Skip to main content

Lick (Stage Dive #1) by Kylie Scott- 5 Stars

Lick by Kylie Scott, audio-book cover
I am a big fun of Kylie Scott's romance books and this did not disappoint. The real question is: Why haven't I read this before? I am looking forward to the next one- luckily for me this is not brand new and I can dive straight into it!


"Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this."

Evelyn Thomas's plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man in her room, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.


In Kylie Scott's Lick, one thing is certain: being married to one of the hottest rock stars on the planet is sure to be a wild ride." (Book Blurb)

I thought it was hilarious how this book started and adorable how it ended. 

"Let me get this straight, you don't remember anything?" 


"No," I said, swallowing hard. "What did we do last night?" 

"We got fucking married." he growled.

There is so much more to both characters than you assume after their rough beginning. And gosh I felt bad for David. He is not a bad guy who took advantage of her, that is very clear from the start, so I felt for him instantly. 

Evelyn soon realizes she didn't marry a nobody, he is a very famous rock-star and things get complicated (as if they weren't already) real fast. In an attempt to run away from the crazy and sort out the mess David takes Evelyn to his home, the one away from the paparazzi. the plan to start is to stay there until divorce papers are sorted, but as they get to know each other -or she gets to know him- she slowly starts to see why she married him in such a crazy way... I won't say more on the story-line not to spoil it for you all and I strongly recommend you read it.

Evelyn was not necessarily my favorite female character ever written but she was a good girl, down to earth, and honest. I understood her decisions. 
David melt my heart. The guy is tired and finally finds someone who sees him for who is and she completely forgets all about him. That on top of all the insecurities he has because of his past makes things rather hard for him.
The drama that unfold because of the rushed marriage and things that happen afterwards was well written and well thought. At no point did it make me roll my eyes (which can often happen with drama) and it didn't linger forever and ever either. It was fast paced and a pure joy to read.

As another reviewer said: This is a book about taking chances and following your heart and dreams. 

This book was published May 2014.
Find it at:

Comments

  1. My favorite is Jimmy, the third book. Can't wait to see what you think.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation