Skip to main content

Monster Among the Roses: A Beauty and the Beast Story by Linda Kage- 5 lovely stars

Monster Among the Roses, Linda Kage
WOW! 
This was so so so good! It delivered in every possible way.

"I trust you with my heart. Giving you the truth was easy"

It is hard to find well written retellings for adults, young adults? yah... there are tons. New Adult/Adult not so much. Even less retellings not involving fantasy and magic. THIS however, THIS was pure perfection. I loved every single thing about it! 

Here is the blurb for you sunnies:

“Do you know how to get to the rose garden?” 
“No, you can’t go there. A monster lives there.” 


Shaw Hollander is desperate. 
Broke, unemployed, and determined to help his ailing mother, he falls on the good graces of a wealthy benefactor who is willing to give Shaw a job at his mansion in order to pay off his mother’s debts. Suddenly finding himself surrounded by lavish riches, he has no idea what his duties truly entail until he’s sent to the rose garden and meets the tragically mutilated Isobel. 



This Beauty and the Beast story holds true to the core of the fable while shaking off the element of fantasy and dragging it into present-day reality. Shaw and Isobel are ready to let you climb into their four-wheel-drive pickup and take a ride with them into their version of happily ever after, but only if you first dare to gaze upon the monster among the roses. 

WOW! I feel I must say that again! 
Monster Among the Roses was an extremely sweet and touching romance read. My e-book is highlighted from beginning to end. I mean, why highlight quotes when whole paragraphs melt your heart?

First we have Shaw. Goodness the boy is perfection...he has a heart of gold and I dare you not to love him. His mother is sick and bankrupt and he is willing to do anything -and I really mean anything- to fix their situation. He goes to the richest man he can think of, Henry Nash, and begs for help and forgiveness for his mother's debts. His determination and love for his mother were heart warming. His interaction with the other employees in the house and his banter and friendship with Isobel made for an entertaining, uplifting and moving story.

Henry Nash is a rich man, needs nothing. But his daughter does. So when the young good looking Shaw walks in hi office he has an idea. I liked his character, his love and care for his daughter are admirable.

Isobel has part of her face disfigured. She has been hiding indoors for years and is lonely. Shaw slowly but surely breaks her hard shell, teaches her to love and to live again. They do things together, get to know each other, lough, cry... she eventually stops hiding her scared face from him and learns to trust him.

It wouldn't be a good romance novel without some bumps in the road, so there were a few. Tear worthy few... you might want to have a box of tissues nearby!

"You hear that, scars?" I told them. "I know you like to hog all the attention away from my girl here, but I gotta tell you, she's still prettier than you are ugly"
*I swoon*

Published July 2017
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Nook: B&N - Kobo - Author's page


Comments

  1. This sounds interesting. I like fairy tale retellings

    ReplyDelete
  2. Old Garden Roses. These are my most loved as they contain probably the most seasoned classes of roses and come in each size. They have a solid aroma with flowers that sprout in practically any shading you like. La Fleur De Luxe

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.