Skip to main content

Demos at the Doorstep by Rachael Bell-Irving - 4.5/5 Stars

Demons at the Doorstep by Rachel Bell-Irving
Hello sunnies!
I just love discovering new authors. It is such a wonderful thing when a book meet all your expectations. Demons at the Doorstep was a wonderful young adult fantasy book and I am very happy that it landed on my doorstep!

Here is the blurb:
ONE LATE OCTOBER NIGHT, THE CITIZENS of Toronto are startled to see strangely colored northern lights above their city. While most dismiss it as an odd phenomenon, Jessica Williams knows better. As a young witch living in the city, she is a part of a small handful of beings who know the truth. She sets out to discover the cause of the powerful magic, in hopes of stopping it. Making matters worse is the band of witch hunters constantly on her tail. Led by Connor Crowe and his brother Damien, the group is determined to purge all magic from reality. Jessica's world is thrown upside down when horrifically mutated demons begin to appear from the shadows. Now she faces her greatest challenge yet. She must destroy the nearly indestructible monsters, and stop the evil that conjures them, all while struggling to control the immense power at her own fingertips. What she did not count on, was being forced to partner with her most dangerous enemy to do it.

The first thing I feel I should point out about this book is the writing. I was about 50  pages in when I decided that regardless of what I thought of the plot I would give the book a few stars for the writing alone. Rachel Bell-Irving is no shadow of doubt a very talented writer. 

Luckily, the plot was as good as the writing. Demons at the Doorstep is not some super complicated high fantasy, it is a nicely  paced, easy to read fantasy written for young adults readers of all ages. This is the second book I read this month that makes me miss the books that got me into reading fantasy in the first place. There is a lot of high fantasy books around in the YA world these days and I miss some easy read beauties like this one.  

The story mainly follows Jessica and Damien, She is a witch, he is a witch hunter. As demons start to fuse their bodies to humans it becomes clear to Damien that he cannot take care of the situation alone and he starts to follow Jessica around hoping she knows/can find a solution to their citie's problems.

Jessica was a great main character. She was strong in every way- mind, body, power! Definitely not someone to mess around with. I liked her seriousness and her dedication to what she was born to do.
Damien was a great character too. He was hard to trust but easy to love. The friendship (even though both would deny being friends) that evolved between them was nice to read. I am very much looking forward to their friendship turning into something more on the next books.

All in all a great easy read! I only have one question: When is the next book out?! I NEED IT! 

I had a look at Rachel's website and found an awesome page with the characters descriptions. Pretty cool: Rachel's Website- characters

Find the book at: Amazon - Indigo - Barnes and Noble




*a free copy of this book was provided by the author in exchange of an honest review*

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation