Skip to main content

Demos at the Doorstep by Rachael Bell-Irving - 4.5/5 Stars

Demons at the Doorstep by Rachel Bell-Irving
Hello sunnies!
I just love discovering new authors. It is such a wonderful thing when a book meet all your expectations. Demons at the Doorstep was a wonderful young adult fantasy book and I am very happy that it landed on my doorstep!

Here is the blurb:
ONE LATE OCTOBER NIGHT, THE CITIZENS of Toronto are startled to see strangely colored northern lights above their city. While most dismiss it as an odd phenomenon, Jessica Williams knows better. As a young witch living in the city, she is a part of a small handful of beings who know the truth. She sets out to discover the cause of the powerful magic, in hopes of stopping it. Making matters worse is the band of witch hunters constantly on her tail. Led by Connor Crowe and his brother Damien, the group is determined to purge all magic from reality. Jessica's world is thrown upside down when horrifically mutated demons begin to appear from the shadows. Now she faces her greatest challenge yet. She must destroy the nearly indestructible monsters, and stop the evil that conjures them, all while struggling to control the immense power at her own fingertips. What she did not count on, was being forced to partner with her most dangerous enemy to do it.

The first thing I feel I should point out about this book is the writing. I was about 50  pages in when I decided that regardless of what I thought of the plot I would give the book a few stars for the writing alone. Rachel Bell-Irving is no shadow of doubt a very talented writer. 

Luckily, the plot was as good as the writing. Demons at the Doorstep is not some super complicated high fantasy, it is a nicely  paced, easy to read fantasy written for young adults readers of all ages. This is the second book I read this month that makes me miss the books that got me into reading fantasy in the first place. There is a lot of high fantasy books around in the YA world these days and I miss some easy read beauties like this one.  

The story mainly follows Jessica and Damien, She is a witch, he is a witch hunter. As demons start to fuse their bodies to humans it becomes clear to Damien that he cannot take care of the situation alone and he starts to follow Jessica around hoping she knows/can find a solution to their citie's problems.

Jessica was a great main character. She was strong in every way- mind, body, power! Definitely not someone to mess around with. I liked her seriousness and her dedication to what she was born to do.
Damien was a great character too. He was hard to trust but easy to love. The friendship (even though both would deny being friends) that evolved between them was nice to read. I am very much looking forward to their friendship turning into something more on the next books.

All in all a great easy read! I only have one question: When is the next book out?! I NEED IT! 

I had a look at Rachel's website and found an awesome page with the characters descriptions. Pretty cool: Rachel's Website- characters

Find the book at: Amazon - Indigo - Barnes and Noble




*a free copy of this book was provided by the author in exchange of an honest review*

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.