Skip to main content

Guest Blogger: Lacey from Booklovers For Life with a review for Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren

Our Guest Blogger this week is Lacey! Her Favorite read in 2018 so far is Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren and she has kindly agreed to share her review of it here in Glimpses of my Books.
But before we get to her review, here is a little Q&A with her and the many ways in which you can go follow her after we are done!

Hi Lacey!

Tell us a little bit about you before we go into bookish questions… Where are you from? Have you always lived there? What are your hobbies besides reading?

Hi Anne! Thank you for having me on Glimpses of my Books :) I’m born and raised in SoCal, have lived in LA almost my entire life and then moved to San Diego for school for a few years. I love it here! I’d live here forever if I could. As for hobbies besides reading… does collecting books count!? Lol. But I do love finding new restaurants to eat at. I’m a huge foodie.


- When/What got you into reading?

I got into reading around 5th/6th grade. I was over at my cousin’s house and she had one of the books in The Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot on her desk and I remember picking it up and checking it out. From there I basically read everything Meg Cabot and then ventured into everything YA and romance.


- What other 3 books you think deserve praise so far this year?

The Surviving Trace by Calia Read. A fantastic time travel romance.
Birthday Girl by Penelope Douglas. The perfect forbidden romance!
The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang. It’s got an autistic, techy heroine and an amazing, diverse cast of characters. Plus it’s an escort romance!


- Do you have a favorite genre?

If you couldn’t tell, I’m a romance junkie! I’ll read anything as long as it’s got romance, from contemporary, to fantasy, to historical.


- Is there a book you really did not enjoy reading lately? Which one? Why?

Dirty Sexy Player by Laurelin Paige. I was super excited for this one since it’s a spinoff of another series by Laurelin that I loved, but I was disappointed by it. The hero was so immature and childish. And I absolutely hated the way it ended.


- Do you have an all time favorite book or book series?

Kulti by Mariana Zapata! It’s a friends-to-lovers, soccer romance, and slow burn perfection.


- How about a favorite author?

This is so hard, but probably Mariana Zapata (again). She did write my all-time favorite book, and she’s the queen of slow burn. I flat-out love every single books she’s ever written.


- Last but not least, where else in this big wide web world can we find you?
You can find my on my blog Booklovers For LifeInstagram Twitter Facebook, and Goodreads


The review:

Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren

My very first 6 star review of 2018 (and the first in a while) has to go to Love and Other Words, a gorgeously written love story by one of my favorite authors, Christina Lauren. I can’t remember the last time I was this wholeheartedly obsessed with a book. The storytelling was incredible, the blend of past and present seamless. I couldn’t get enough of Macy and Elliot. If there’s one book you need to read this year, let it be this one.

I adore second chance romances – it is one of my go-to tropes, but I admit there have been few and far between that have been done perfectly. L&OW was everything I wanted in a second chance romance – and also so much more. Told in alternating chapters of Then and Now, we have teenaged Macy and Elliot who meet, connect, become best friends, and fall in love for the first time, alongside their adult counterparts, who reunite for the first time in eleven years and fall in love for the second time.

I read L&OW in one sitting. I literally could not put this book down, nor did I want to let the characters go by the time I got to the end. Elliot and Macy’s love story of friendship, heartbreak, and second chances absolutely stole my heart. Theirs is a love that is tender, raw, and beautiful beyond words. This book is now my favorite read of 2018 so far – it is pure perfection.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation