Skip to main content

But First, Coffee by Sarah Darlington [arc review]

My first book by Sarah Darlington and most definitely NOT the last. I am officially a fan!
All characters had charm and were original. There was plenty of chemistry, charm, drama and unexpected moments to keep you on your toes. 
Loved It!
Cover for But First, Coffee

Blurb:
She’s the boss.
I’m only a barista in her company.

I really don’t give a f**k about her one way or the other.

And then there’s Doug Maddox, a man with a lot of power over me. He’s blackmailing me. Making me spy on her. I’m supposed to find her weaknesses and destroy her. But the closer I get, the more the lines between us start to blur. 

She’s sweet. She’s kind. She’s sexy as hell.
Why am I the only man who see’s this?

So now I’m stuck—between keeping my sister safe against Doug, because that’s what’s really at stake here, and these feelings I can’t deny for a woman who shouldn’t mean anything to me.

I know what I have to do. I’ll destroy her.
It doesn’t matter if I have to destroy my own heart in the process.





4.5 Stars

Lana works hard. She built her company from nothing and has became a powerhouse in the industry. She knows what she is doing and is smart about it. When she finds out there is more to her highest selling barista she calls him in for an interview and gives him a promotion. She is also super sweet. One of those characters you just want to hug. It is no wonder that Joe felt bad about what he was doing and in the end fell for her.

Joe is charismatic. Everyone loves him. But there are plenty of skeletons in his and his sister's closets. One of those lends them in trouble, and to pay for it he needs to spy on Lana. Easier said than done when the woman is everything he didn't know he needed to heal from his past. 

This book was not your usual office romance. There was much more to it. There was suspense, drama, it dealt with mental health issues, substance abuse, rape...
It is a light hearted book while at the same time dealing with some very heavy subjects and that is not something easy to do at all. All I can say is BRAVO Sarah Darlington! That was quite an accomplishment. Brilliant writing! 

And now I am ready for the next book. The ending of that epilogue left me far too curious. I desperately need to know what happens next. Not to worry though sunnies, the book has a HEA. The open ending is about another couple and it makes zero sense while at the same time being freaking perfect. I CANNOT WAIT!

Release Date: September 10th
Find the book at: Amazon




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation