Skip to main content

Into the Darkest Night (The Chaos Theory Duet Book 1) by Cassandra Giovanni [arc review]

Hello Sunnies!
I just finished this glorious romantic suspense and I am sitting here questioning myself on why I don't read them more often. I really them but for some reason they do not make into my house as often as all other romance sub-genres. Anyway... this was fab! I knew nothing about the author going in and now I want to know everything! hehe
Blurb:
I was born a child of the Elite; destined to live a life of privilege in Sun City. 
With one decision I gave it all up. 

Ana Jacobs knows the Elite and their depravity all too well. She was one of them once. Her father was a member of the Inner Circle and head of the Trinity funding the corruption of Sun City. When he learned she knew the names of those he'd hidden so well, he turned his back on her; had her kidnapped and tortured to protect his secrets. 

When she escapes the island and learns of her father’s death at the hands of a knife-wielding vigilante called the Nightwatchman, she returns to Sun City, vowing to use her knowledge to protect the city. As a city cop, she blends into the background, and no one suspects her real motives. 

Levi Bennett knows where Ana’s been. He's also an Elite, but where Ana was sent to the island, he ended up there by accident. While Ana buries herself in her work and stopping the flow of illegal drugs and weapons into the poverty-stricken Blue District, Levi covers his pain by partying and spending his trust fund on buying bars and restaurants. 

Thrown together by Levi’s constant pressing of the limits, the two can’t deny the connection they share through their dark pasts. 

Their demons are one in the same, but some demons can’t be tamed. 


Levi and Ana have been through hell and back. Their past in the island shaped them in the people they are today- full of scars and secrets. They have both built walls around their hearts and found ways to cope with the memories of the island they were trapped in.

From the very begging it is clear that both of them are hiding something. But even with secrets and the fear of what that will do to them they can't help the attraction between them or the overpowering need to be around someone that understands them. They don't have to pretend to be someone they are not around each other, they can just be. 

I loved both main characters. They were well written and well thought out. It was easy to feel a certain connection and sympathy for both of them. 

Now let's talk about that ending without talking about the ending... LOL 
I knew it was gonna happen, it was pretty obvious. But boy it annoyed me when it did. I turned the page expecting more and there was nothing.... 
*scream in anguish*
When is the next book out? I NEEEEED!!!

The book only loses a point because it took me a little while to get into it, it took me a while to understand what was happening or had happened to Ana. I feel like there is a prequel somewhere that I should have read and didn't. 

Go Read sunnies

Release date: September 18 2018
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation