Skip to main content

Windburn (Nightwing #2) by Juliette Cross [arc review]

Hello sunnies!
Another day another beautiful book by Juliette Cross. Have you guys started reading her books yet? why not? If you are a PNR fan you certainly should.
Windburn was great! Sorcha is one of those characters you either love or hate. She was a firecracker for sure. And our Morgan man in this book was just as amazing as his brother in Soulfire. 



Windburn, Juliette Cross
The blurb:

No man can win her heart—until now…

In the Gladium Province, the boundaries between humans and Morgons, the dragon-hybrid race, continue to blur as a new generation surrenders to long-forbidden temptation…

Sorcha Linden does whatever she wants whenever she wants, and no one can stop her. Least of all a man. After all, they’re good for only one thing—warming her bed. But then she meets Lorian, brother of Lucius Nightwing. Seductive and iron-willed, Lorian is determined to melt her emotional defenses—and warm her rebellious heart.

The beast within Lorian longs to cage Sorcha and mark her as his own. Forever. Yet the man within also longs to protect her. When a stalker starts leaving Sorcha suggestive gifts with cryptic messages bearing an ancient blood cult symbol, Lorian’s dragon side takes over. With her life at stake, Sorcha can no longer deny the love they share. But when evil tracks her into the night, will she be too late to claim it?





4 Stars


Windburn focuses on Jessen's best friend and her mate's brother, Lorian. Both characters are fabulous. 
Sorcha is a tough cookie to crack. The woman is independent, always speaks her mind, and is a tad aggressive. It might take you a while to warm up to her but I guarantee that eventually you will. She has her reasons to be like that and to put the walls around her heart the way she has.
Lorian is very much like his brother, protective, serious, alpha in every way. But most importantly, he sees past Sorcha's BS and calls her out on it while at the same time being understanding. He doesn't give her space as her life is in danger, but he doesn't push farther than she can go either. 

Although I loved this book Soulfire still my favorite. Sorcha is great but sometimes a tad 'too much' even for me. And because of that I felt the dynamics/chemistry between the main characters were a little off at times. There was more of a balance between the main characters in Soulfire and the next book - Nightbloom (yes, I read both in one sitting, don't judge me!).
But as I said, I loved the book. Lorian was mesmerizing and Sorcha made me laugh plenty! 

Go Read!


Rerelease of updated version coming September 24, 2018.
Find the book at- GoodReads - Kobo - Amazon

I think this was the old cover.... Delicious! hehe
Windburn, Juliette Cross




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.