Skip to main content

Decidedly With Mistletoe (By The Bay #4) by Stina Lindenblatt [arc review]

I don't read Christmas books... but it is September... so surely that is ok right?! LOL
Or at least that was what I told myself when I read the blurb for this book and felt the urge to read it.
It was everything I hoped it would be: sweet, charming, captivating đź’“
I dare you not to have a smile from ear to ear at the end!



The Blurb:
Kissing-under-the-mistletoe rule #1: never kiss your ex-fiancée.
Oops.
 

Ava Versteeg’s plans for the Christmas break include: 1. Drive to Lake Tahoe, 2. Learn to ski, 3. Enjoy hot, earth-shattering sex (and end her sex drought!) and 4. Meet her Forever Love under the mistletoe. Right—the last one was her friend’s prediction, but you never know. What she doesn’t count on is a flat tire, a major blizzard, and for her ex-fiancĂ©, the man who broke her heart ten years ago, to come to her rescue. Oh, damn. 

While driving back to San Francisco, former Navy SEAL Liam Quade discovers Ava stuck on the side of the road. She’s the woman he was forced to walk away from ten years ago. And now, she’s the woman who would rather be coated with honey and fed to a hungry bear than to be within ten feet of him. Ouch. 

Liam drives Ava to a nearby inn to wait out the storm…and ends up kissing her under the mistletoe. Christmas magic is in the air and Liam realizes he never stopped loving her. But as secrets from ten years ago start to unravel, Liam has to prove to Ava that he’s worth taking a second chance on. He has to prove to Ava that he’s her forever. 


5 Stars

Oh Liam... lets not dawdle and go straight to single most captivating thing in the whole book: Liam! Lately I have been enjoying the sweet perfect male characters a little too much, Liam was wonderful to read. The guy made his mistakes in the past, but boy is he perfect now! And our feisty but also very sweet Ava definitely agrees :) 

Their story is rather straightforward: they had their chance in the past, even got engaged. But they let Ava's family get in the way of their happiness and things ended. Ava moved on with her life eventually marrying and divorcing a cheating idiot and Liam focused on his career never having a serious relationship again. When their paths cross years later it is obvious they still have feelings for each other and that they have enough chemistry to burn down a village! -seriously- 

And that is pretty much it. There wasn't a super complicated plot with tons of drama going on. Yah, they had a few obstacles to get through but nothing earth chattering. And that is why I loved the book so much. It was the perfect book to read by the fireplace for a couple of hours and forget that the rest of the world exists (or in my case at the hairdresser while my kiddo got her hair cut done). 
As much as I love my dark romances and a fair share of drama sometimes we romance lovers just need a feel good romance and Decidedly with Mistletoe was exactly that!

As I said in the beginning: I dare you not have a smile from ear to ear at the end!

Release date: Sep 20
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Kobo

*arc provided in exchange for an honest review

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.