Skip to main content

Crew (Crew #1) by Tijan

Another Day another Tijan Book!
Do you all have an auto-buy author? Tijan is mine. If I don't get the arc, I buy it!
So... let's talk about Crew...



Crew, Tijan @glimpses_of_my_books
The Blurb:

To survive where I live, you have two options.

You can be a Normal--a cheerleader, jock, member of the debate team, or on the yearbook committee. You pretend everything is normal.

Or you can be crew.
You insult us? We hurt you.
You hurt us? We really hurt you.
And if you screw with us, we will end you.

My name is Bren.
I'm the only female in the Wolf Crew--the best, fiercest, and most dangerous crew there is--and we have a rule: There's no falling in love.

Well... too late.




3.8 Stars

I find Crew to be a story of trust, of how friends can become family, and of the struggles of growing up with a less than perfect childhood.

The story is told from Bren's perspective and she is a little messed up to say the list. I rather liked her dark personality and the way she started to trust and lighten up again. There are reasons for her to be how she is, in all honesty it would be more surprising if a girl that has been through what she has was not a little dark and closed off...
Bren is part of a Crew. To me it sounded very much like a gang without bloodshed. Bad beatings but no mortal wounds... Her Crew is her family, there isn't much she wouldn't do for those boys.
The love interest is Cross and I don't really have much to say about him apart from him being perfect for Bren. He understands her darkness better than anyone else and he is the one she trusts most. Because of that their relationship was a lot deeper than a mere physical attraction.
Tijan does a great job writing characters dealing with depression and those sides of us we so often pretend are not there. Bren's character was beautifully written! 

All that being said, this was the first time reading a Tijan book (and I have read at least 20 of them) where it took me a while to get into the story, I wasn't sure about it in the beginning. Although in the end I thought Tijan did and outstanding job (no surprises there) I am not myself into too much teen drama. So as a matter of personal preference I can't say I loved everything about it. This is actually one of the reasons I haven't read her Fallen Crest books yet. My favorite books by her are Carter Reed and Cole, that will say enough if you have read her books :)

Before I end this review I need to get one thing out of the way that has been bothering me: This is not YA. I have no idea why it has been classified as that by some but it shouldn't be. As a librarian who was on a board that decided those things for public schools I can tell you with 100% certainty that books with sex as portrayed in Crew are not YA. The best classification for this book is New Adult.

Anywho, Tijan rocks. Always have and always will. Sooooo...
GO READ!

Find the book at: Amazon - GoodReads


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation