Skip to main content

City of Ghosts (Cassidy Blake #1) by Victoria Schwab [arc review]

This was utterly adorable! I rarely read Middle Grade books, but I knew this had promise since Schwab is such an amazing writer. I was not wrong, I don't care what age is the target audience for this, I LOVED it and I cannot wait to find out what happens next.
City of Ghosts, V.E. Schwab
Blurb:
Cassidy Blake's parents are The Inspectres, a (somewhat inept) ghost-hunting team. But Cass herself can REALLY see ghosts. In fact, her best friend, Jacob, just happens to be one.

When The Inspectres head to ultra-haunted Edinburgh, Scotland, for their new TV show, Cass—and Jacob—come along. In Scotland, Cass is surrounded by ghosts, not all of them friendly. Then she meets Lara, a girl who can also see the dead. But Lara tells Cassidy that as an In-betweener, their job is to send ghosts permanently beyond the Veil. Cass isn't sure about her new mission, but she does know the sinister Red Raven haunting the city doesn't belong in her world. Cassidy's powers will draw her into an epic fight that stretches through the worlds of the living and the dead, in order to save herself.



4.5 Stars


The main characters were Cassidy and Jacob and they were both impossible not to love. From the first page to the last they had me enthralled. I wanted to know more about them, their journey, their future... It feels rather odd to say this... but I liked it more than A Gathering of Shadows (the only book in the Shades f Magic Series I did not give a 5 star. It was a 3 I believe). 

The plot is very straight forward, as most books for younger kids will be. If the blurb does not entice you, you will not like it. It has a simple story and a very easy to read narrative. Cassidy almost dies so she can now see ghosts and her best friend just so happens to be one. Her parents don't believe in ghosts yet are acclaimed book writers. Topic? ghosts. I know, the irony is grand. That is the basis to the story, the rest is pretty much as the blurb suggests.
Although the plot is simple, it is done well and beautifully. 

My favorite part was Cassidy's and Jacob's friendship. Schwab writes amazing relationships, that be friendship or more, and it is no different here. Their trust in each other and the fun they have together was heart warming. I am really looking forward to finding out what happens to them or between them in the next book. 

All in all, utterly adorable with a side of sinister ;)

Release Date: August 28, 2018
Find the Book at:
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Kobo
Book Depository
Goodreads

*please note this is a Middle Grade book. I have labeled YA because all my books are either in romance or YA and Victoria Schwab is an YA author.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.