Skip to main content

City of Ghosts (Cassidy Blake #1) by Victoria Schwab [arc review]

This was utterly adorable! I rarely read Middle Grade books, but I knew this had promise since Schwab is such an amazing writer. I was not wrong, I don't care what age is the target audience for this, I LOVED it and I cannot wait to find out what happens next.
City of Ghosts, V.E. Schwab
Blurb:
Cassidy Blake's parents are The Inspectres, a (somewhat inept) ghost-hunting team. But Cass herself can REALLY see ghosts. In fact, her best friend, Jacob, just happens to be one.

When The Inspectres head to ultra-haunted Edinburgh, Scotland, for their new TV show, Cass—and Jacob—come along. In Scotland, Cass is surrounded by ghosts, not all of them friendly. Then she meets Lara, a girl who can also see the dead. But Lara tells Cassidy that as an In-betweener, their job is to send ghosts permanently beyond the Veil. Cass isn't sure about her new mission, but she does know the sinister Red Raven haunting the city doesn't belong in her world. Cassidy's powers will draw her into an epic fight that stretches through the worlds of the living and the dead, in order to save herself.



4.5 Stars


The main characters were Cassidy and Jacob and they were both impossible not to love. From the first page to the last they had me enthralled. I wanted to know more about them, their journey, their future... It feels rather odd to say this... but I liked it more than A Gathering of Shadows (the only book in the Shades f Magic Series I did not give a 5 star. It was a 3 I believe). 

The plot is very straight forward, as most books for younger kids will be. If the blurb does not entice you, you will not like it. It has a simple story and a very easy to read narrative. Cassidy almost dies so she can now see ghosts and her best friend just so happens to be one. Her parents don't believe in ghosts yet are acclaimed book writers. Topic? ghosts. I know, the irony is grand. That is the basis to the story, the rest is pretty much as the blurb suggests.
Although the plot is simple, it is done well and beautifully. 

My favorite part was Cassidy's and Jacob's friendship. Schwab writes amazing relationships, that be friendship or more, and it is no different here. Their trust in each other and the fun they have together was heart warming. I am really looking forward to finding out what happens to them or between them in the next book. 

All in all, utterly adorable with a side of sinister ;)

Release Date: August 28, 2018
Find the Book at:
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Kobo
Book Depository
Goodreads

*please note this is a Middle Grade book. I have labeled YA because all my books are either in romance or YA and Victoria Schwab is an YA author.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b