Skip to main content

Roomies by Christina Lauren

I know I am a little late to the party but better late than never right? I love Christina Lauren and this did not disappoint. It was a wonderful read and I really didn't want it to end... I find that I never want anything Christina Lauren writes to end... I mean, can we have another Beautiful Bastard book please? hehe Seriously amazing talent there! Loved it!
Roomies, Christina Lauren
Blurb:
Marriages of convenience are so…inconvenient.

Rescued by Calvin McLoughlin from a would-be subway attacker, Holland Bakker pays the brilliant musician back by pulling some of her errand-girl strings and getting him an audition with a big-time musical director. When the tryout goes better than even Holland could have imagined, Calvin is set for a great entry into Broadway—until he admits his student visa has expired and he’s in the country illegally.

Holland impulsively offers to wed the Irishman to keep him in New York, her growing infatuation a secret only to him. As their relationship evolves from awkward roommates to besotted lovers, Calvin becomes the darling of Broadway. In the middle of the theatrics and the acting-not-acting, what will it take for Holland and Calvin to realize that they both stopped pretending a long time ago?

I wasn't sure I was going to like the book, oh how wrong I was...



5 Proud Stars

Everything about Roomies was perfect. The plot, the characters, the descriptions of the music, the romance... everything was on point. 

Holland and Calvin's romance starts slow. It build from infatuation (hers for him) to a crazy proposal, to friendship, to something more, to love. Their slow burn romance had the perfect pace and fit the plot perfectly.

Holland is a struggling writer that is not really struggling because her uncles help her out with everything. Her uncle Robert is a huge Broadway hit and she works for him selling merchandise and taking pictures. She is not doing what she loves, but she is with the two people she loves most, her uncles.

Calvin is a struggling musician, expect that he is truly struggling. He plays with whatever band has a spot for him and at the subway, which is where their paths cross. He is also in the country illegally. After Holland sets up for her uncle to hear him play he is offered a job (the job of his dreams may I add) and can't take it because of his lack of a visa. This is where the story gets interesting! Holland asks him  to marry her so that her uncle can have the musician he wants and needs.

What starts as a marriage of convenience slowly builds into something else. Even though the chemistry between them is obvious from the moment they meet they take things slow, one step at the time. It was beautiful to see how much he needed her, how much he appreciated her input in his music, how much he cared. She acted a little silly sometimes but she was lost, leaving her life for others rather than for herself. So it was also beautiful to see her finding herself.

This was a really sweet read and if you like Christina Lauren's books you really should give it a go. 

Find the book at:


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.