Skip to main content

Roomies by Christina Lauren

I know I am a little late to the party but better late than never right? I love Christina Lauren and this did not disappoint. It was a wonderful read and I really didn't want it to end... I find that I never want anything Christina Lauren writes to end... I mean, can we have another Beautiful Bastard book please? hehe Seriously amazing talent there! Loved it!
Roomies, Christina Lauren
Blurb:
Marriages of convenience are so…inconvenient.

Rescued by Calvin McLoughlin from a would-be subway attacker, Holland Bakker pays the brilliant musician back by pulling some of her errand-girl strings and getting him an audition with a big-time musical director. When the tryout goes better than even Holland could have imagined, Calvin is set for a great entry into Broadway—until he admits his student visa has expired and he’s in the country illegally.

Holland impulsively offers to wed the Irishman to keep him in New York, her growing infatuation a secret only to him. As their relationship evolves from awkward roommates to besotted lovers, Calvin becomes the darling of Broadway. In the middle of the theatrics and the acting-not-acting, what will it take for Holland and Calvin to realize that they both stopped pretending a long time ago?

I wasn't sure I was going to like the book, oh how wrong I was...



5 Proud Stars

Everything about Roomies was perfect. The plot, the characters, the descriptions of the music, the romance... everything was on point. 

Holland and Calvin's romance starts slow. It build from infatuation (hers for him) to a crazy proposal, to friendship, to something more, to love. Their slow burn romance had the perfect pace and fit the plot perfectly.

Holland is a struggling writer that is not really struggling because her uncles help her out with everything. Her uncle Robert is a huge Broadway hit and she works for him selling merchandise and taking pictures. She is not doing what she loves, but she is with the two people she loves most, her uncles.

Calvin is a struggling musician, expect that he is truly struggling. He plays with whatever band has a spot for him and at the subway, which is where their paths cross. He is also in the country illegally. After Holland sets up for her uncle to hear him play he is offered a job (the job of his dreams may I add) and can't take it because of his lack of a visa. This is where the story gets interesting! Holland asks him  to marry her so that her uncle can have the musician he wants and needs.

What starts as a marriage of convenience slowly builds into something else. Even though the chemistry between them is obvious from the moment they meet they take things slow, one step at the time. It was beautiful to see how much he needed her, how much he appreciated her input in his music, how much he cared. She acted a little silly sometimes but she was lost, leaving her life for others rather than for herself. So it was also beautiful to see her finding herself.

This was a really sweet read and if you like Christina Lauren's books you really should give it a go. 

Find the book at:


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b