Skip to main content

It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time by Kylie Scott [arc review]

It seemed like a good idea at the time, Kylie Scott
Hello Hello Sunnies! Another day, another beauty by Kylie Scott.
It does not reach Stage Dive and Dive Bar status' of epicness (not sure many books can 🤔) but it was good. It is all about a forbidden romance, a young girl who fell in love with her father's friend/worker, and their paths inevitably crossing once again when she is older.
Here is the blurb for you all:

Returning home for her father’s wedding was never going to be easy for Adele. If being sent away at eighteen hadn’t been bad enough, the mess she left behind when she made a pass at her dad’s business partner sure was.

Fifteen years older than her, Pete had been her crush for as long as she could remember. But she’d misread the situation—confusing friendliness for undying love. Awkward. Add her father to the misunderstanding, and Pete had been left with a broken nose and a business on the edge of ruin. The man had to be just as glad as everyone else when she left town.

Seven years on, things are different. Adele is no longer a kid, but a fully grown adult more than capable of getting through the wedding and being polite. But all it takes is seeing him again to bring back all those old feelings.

Sometimes first loves are the truest.


3.8 Stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Where to start? If you love a forbidden romance story the first 80% of this book are going to have you on the edge of your seat with excitement. And the moment their mutual attraction finally lets lose? Goodness me...that was one amazing hot scene. The chemistry between the main characters is absolutely and 100% off the freaking charts!

Adele was a fun girl.She was caring but she also had a backbone to go with it. All in all a fab main character. Mature but in love. And I don't need to say this, but when we are in love we do silly things, and she did plenty. 
Pete oh Pete... he deserved a good slap in the face more than once. He is not one of those male characters you instantly fall for, he needs time to grow on you and the throwback in time chapters relating how they met and became friends really did help.

It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time was a sexy and fun romance with all Kylie Scott's usual trademarks. There was just the right amount and angst, drama, and anticipation. 

It seemed like a good idea at the time, Kylie Scott

But, it wasn't all rainbows and roses as they say. The ending was very anticlimactic, unrealistic, and disappointing. 
We desperately needed a few chapters inside Pete's head. It was very hard to understand and connect with his character, and that did not help with the rushed ending. 
So yah... the rushed ending... after all that drama and expectation the book just ends. One very important thing happen (and I can't say what or I will spoil things for you) and after that all of sudden Pete knows what he wants and "voila", everything is perfect, the end. 
Hein?! I closed the book feeling confused and a tad angry. I only wrote this review two days after reading the book, I needed time to think and appreciate the beauty that was the first third of the book a little more. Because guys, the first third really was fantastic.

In conclusion, if you are a fan of Kylie do read the book. But be aware the end will not be as satisfactory as the ending on her other works.

TTFN Sunnies! 
It seemed like a good idea at the time, Kylie Scott



Find the book at:
GOODREADS
AMAZON
AMAZON UK




About the author:
Kylie is a New York Times and USA Today best-selling author. She was voted Australian Romance Writer of the year, 2013 & 2014, by the Australian Romance Writer’s Association and her books have been translated into eleven different languages. She is a long time fan of romance, rock music, and B-grade horror films. Based in Queensland, Australia with her two children and husband, she reads, writes and never dithers around on the internet. You can learn more about Kylie from:


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b