Skip to main content

It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time by Kylie Scott [arc review]

It seemed like a good idea at the time, Kylie Scott
Hello Hello Sunnies! Another day, another beauty by Kylie Scott.
It does not reach Stage Dive and Dive Bar status' of epicness (not sure many books can 🤔) but it was good. It is all about a forbidden romance, a young girl who fell in love with her father's friend/worker, and their paths inevitably crossing once again when she is older.
Here is the blurb for you all:

Returning home for her father’s wedding was never going to be easy for Adele. If being sent away at eighteen hadn’t been bad enough, the mess she left behind when she made a pass at her dad’s business partner sure was.

Fifteen years older than her, Pete had been her crush for as long as she could remember. But she’d misread the situation—confusing friendliness for undying love. Awkward. Add her father to the misunderstanding, and Pete had been left with a broken nose and a business on the edge of ruin. The man had to be just as glad as everyone else when she left town.

Seven years on, things are different. Adele is no longer a kid, but a fully grown adult more than capable of getting through the wedding and being polite. But all it takes is seeing him again to bring back all those old feelings.

Sometimes first loves are the truest.


3.8 Stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Where to start? If you love a forbidden romance story the first 80% of this book are going to have you on the edge of your seat with excitement. And the moment their mutual attraction finally lets lose? Goodness me...that was one amazing hot scene. The chemistry between the main characters is absolutely and 100% off the freaking charts!

Adele was a fun girl.She was caring but she also had a backbone to go with it. All in all a fab main character. Mature but in love. And I don't need to say this, but when we are in love we do silly things, and she did plenty. 
Pete oh Pete... he deserved a good slap in the face more than once. He is not one of those male characters you instantly fall for, he needs time to grow on you and the throwback in time chapters relating how they met and became friends really did help.

It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time was a sexy and fun romance with all Kylie Scott's usual trademarks. There was just the right amount and angst, drama, and anticipation. 

It seemed like a good idea at the time, Kylie Scott

But, it wasn't all rainbows and roses as they say. The ending was very anticlimactic, unrealistic, and disappointing. 
We desperately needed a few chapters inside Pete's head. It was very hard to understand and connect with his character, and that did not help with the rushed ending. 
So yah... the rushed ending... after all that drama and expectation the book just ends. One very important thing happen (and I can't say what or I will spoil things for you) and after that all of sudden Pete knows what he wants and "voila", everything is perfect, the end. 
Hein?! I closed the book feeling confused and a tad angry. I only wrote this review two days after reading the book, I needed time to think and appreciate the beauty that was the first third of the book a little more. Because guys, the first third really was fantastic.

In conclusion, if you are a fan of Kylie do read the book. But be aware the end will not be as satisfactory as the ending on her other works.

TTFN Sunnies! 
It seemed like a good idea at the time, Kylie Scott



Find the book at:
GOODREADS
AMAZON
AMAZON UK




About the author:
Kylie is a New York Times and USA Today best-selling author. She was voted Australian Romance Writer of the year, 2013 & 2014, by the Australian Romance Writer’s Association and her books have been translated into eleven different languages. She is a long time fan of romance, rock music, and B-grade horror films. Based in Queensland, Australia with her two children and husband, she reads, writes and never dithers around on the internet. You can learn more about Kylie from:


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.