Skip to main content

The Good Luck Charm by Helena Hunting [arc review]

This was the usual Feel Good Romance that Helena Hunting writes so well! It is no secret that I love
her books and The Good Luck Charm did not disappoint.

"I was trying to be logical, because God knows nothing about the way I loved you was rational..."

Here is the Book Blurb:
Is it love, or is she just his good luck charm? New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Helena Hunting absolutely delights with this witty and fun standalone contemporary romance. 


Lilah isn't sure what hurt worse: the day Ethan left her to focus on his hockey career, or the day he came back eight years later. He might think they can pick up just where they left off, but she's no longer that same girl and never wants to be again. 

Ethan Kane wants his glory days back. And that includes having Lilah by his side. With her, he was magic. They were magic. All he has to do is make her see that. 

Just when Lilah might finally be ready to let him in, though, she finds out their reunion has nothing to do with her and everything to do with his game. But Ethan's already lost her once, and even if it costs him his career, he'll do anything to keep from losing her again.




3 Stars ⭐⭐⭐

The Good Luck Charm was a feel good second chance romance. I got sucked into Lilah's and Ethan's love story from the very beginning. Lilah's just had a horrible day and to have to face Ethan in the end of it wasn't easy. It was so sweet though, it is obvious within seconds that they have chemistry and that whatever happened that broke them apart 8 years ago has not diminished how they feel for each other.

I loved Lilah from the getcko. It was impossible not to sympathies with the girl after the day she had, everything that could have gone wrong did. It was a funny first few paragraphs for sure.
She has not had an easy life but she has kept her had high, picked up the pieces of her heart when Ethan broke it all those years ago, and kept on moving. Her compassion and determination made her an easy character to love.

Ethan is perhaps the reason I am not giving it a higher rating. I liked him in the end, but for the most part he came across a little selfish and self centered. Putting his needs above hers at every opportunity. She gives him room to be the way he is with her, but when she finally stands up for herself and asks him to help her by letting her study he still ignores her needs. He redeemed himself towards the end, but a little too late for me.

The secondary characters were all interesting and I am here wondering if there will ever be books on them. I certainly hope so!

All in all it was a very sweet and witty book. I missed some big moment, some passionate event, something to make it more memorable. But it was solid like everything else Helena Hunting writes. I  will read just about anything that comes from her wonderful imagination.

Go Read!

ARC kindly provided by Forever Romance in exchange for an honest review.


The Good Luck Charm by Helena Hunting
Release Date: August 7th 2018

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2GvvsRO
B&N : http://bit.ly/2pbeoZI
iBooks: http://apple.co/2jWL1Hb
Nook: http://bit.ly/2iZFBP8
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2jikbd8

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.