Skip to main content

Wild Hunger (Heirs of Chicagoland #1) by Chloe Neill [arc review]

Wild Hunger, Chloe Neill
Wild Hunger was a fabulous urban fantasy story with a dash of the paranormal! As a paranormal lover I was impressed, it was well written and well executed. It was also fast paced (always a bonus), had a great story-line, and lovable relatable characters! 

The Blurb:

As the only vampire child ever born, some believed Elisa Sullivan had all the luck. But the magic that helped bring her into the world left her with a dark secret. Shifter Connor Keene, the only son of North American Central Pack Apex Gabriel Keene, is the only one she trusts with it. But she's a vampire and the daughter of a Master and a Sentinel, and he's prince of the Pack and its future king.

When the assassination of a diplomat brings old feuds to the fore again, Elisa and Connor must choose between love and family, between honor and obligation, before Chicago disappears forever. 



4.5 Stars


Wild Hunger is the first book in  a new series, Heir of Chicagoland. As the title of the series suggests, it is based on the next generation of supernatural beings, the children and heirs of the characters from The Chicagoland Vampires series. I have not read that series, in fact, this is my first book by the author. Luckily the author added enough information on the first few pages that I was not lost.

The main character is Elisa. I am guessing she is the daughter of the main characters from the other series (it sounds that way at least). She is responsible, confident, strong. Her parents are very important in Chicago and she goes to Paris to make a name for herself rather than live in their shadow. She does her training there and is treated like any other vampire would. Expect she is stronger, she hides from them and from her family a strange and dangerous power that is within her. She is scared the power is too much and could consume her. I don't really get why she feels the need to hide that from her parents. They have clearly been through a lot and would be able to help her, but I suppose that makes it realistic, teens never tell their parents anything, I certainly didn't.

Connor is a werewolf shifter. Son of the Alpha and Elisa's best friend since childhood. Well... it is obvious to us the readers that they are best friends, they don't really see it that way. They have the infamous 'I hate you' relationship so may of us with siblings have. The prologue, which is a scene from their childhood is adorable and their relationship continues that way almost the whole way through. It made for a lovely read.

The plot moved along really fast and was really well put together. Even if you haven't read the previous books, which was my case, it still delivered. I didn't feel like I was missing anything. 
Chicago is a symbol for peace between supernatural beings and humans and Europe is trying to achieve the same. Delegations from various European countries go to Chicago for peace talks. Things start to go wrong when the faeries, feeling left out, start to intervene. 

There aren't many negatives, and even the one I can think of is rather based on personal preference and is not a criticism on the author's work. 
I love paranormal and fantasy, of everything I read those are my weak spots. However, I am also a big romance fan, so paranormal, fantasy, contemporary, suspense... it is all a lot better with a little bit of romance in it. There wasn't really any here. There is hint of more romance to come, a kiss or two towards the end, but that is it. It was beautifully written though and I wouldn't change a thing, I just want more. I am greedy. So... more on the next book please Chloe Neill?! Thanks :) 

Arc Kindly provided by @berkleypub . Thank you for the free book!

Release Date: August 14, 2018

Find the Book at: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads


*Any urban fantasy and/or paranormal with a clean story line gets labeled as Young Adult. Please take that as personal preference only.*

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b