Skip to main content

Seafire by Natalie C Parker [arc review]

Seafire, Natalie C Parker
Sisterhood is Survival
Seafire follows the captain of an all female ship put together after a tragic incident. Those fierce and loyal girls want nothing more than to take down the vicious warlord's fleet who has destroyed so many lives.

Blurb:
After her family is killed by corrupt warlord Aric Athair and his bloodthirsty army of Bullets, Caledonia Styx is left to chart her own course on the dangerous and deadly seas. She captains her ship, the Mors Navis, with a crew of girls and women just like her, whose lives have been turned upside down by Aric and his men. The crew has one misson: stay alive, and take down Aric's armed and armored fleet.
But when Caledonia's best friend and second-in-command just barely survives an attack thanks to help from a Bullet looking to defect, Caledonia finds herself questioning whether or not to let him join their crew. Is this boy the key to taking down Aric Athair once and for all...or will he threaten everything the women of the Mors Navis have worked for? 


Seafire was a great book. It had bad-ass female characters, plenty of action, and a very good plot.


3.5 Stars 

The story begins with a tragedy that sets everything else in motion. Something that installs guilt and grief in the heart of Caledonia (the main character) and guides all her actions moving forward.
Four years later she is the captain of an all female ship and is fighting against the bullets (the warlord's fleet soldiers) with all she can and has, one ship at the time. 

The story was intense, the characters were all great and lovable, and the action was just enough to keep it entertaining and make it a fast read. All in all a fantastic story.

Caledonia was fierce, strong minded, and followed her rules for her crew to the letter. Until a bullet saves her best friend's life that is... Everyone in her crew loves her and would follow her to the ends of the earth. Such loyalty is a beautiful thing and made my heart sing with joy.

Piesces, Caledonia's best friend since childhood is the perfect description of an annoying and obnoxious younger sister that you can't help but love. They fought almost the whole way through but the love between them was always above all else.

Oran is the main male character. He is a bullet, or was, or is... we don't know for sure. He saved Piesces life and so even though the rule has always been to never save a bullet, Caledonia is forced by Piesces to save him. He is a prisoner in her ship and is trying to convince her he wants to help, that he can be trusted.  

The story takes place almost entirely at sea and has a cliffhanger that will leave itching for more. I can't wait for the next installment. 

However, I have two things on the negative.
First, Caledonia reminded me too much of Alosa from Daughter of the Pirate King. Seafire does not have the fantasy elements, so it distance itself there a little, but it still at times a bit too similar to the DotPK. And since I just finished reading that duology last month, it is still very fresh in  my memory, which did not help.
I am also little tired of all the female empowerment on YA, not because I am against it, I AM NOT. But because it often comes at the cost of making all male characters look bad. There were some redeeming aspects here, but it still annoyed me that there were only two or so male characters potentially good, emphasis on potentially since we still don't know for sure. 

Release date: August 28th, 2018

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.