Skip to main content

Bombshell by CD Reiss- 1.5 stars

Book blurb:
"Hollywood bad boy Brad Sinclair always gets his way, whether it’s the role he wants or the bikini-clad model he has to have. But when a bombshell gets dropped in his lap in the form of a dimpled five-year-old from a forgotten relationship, he knows his life is about to change forever.

Cara DuMont isn’t exactly thrilled when she gets assigned to be the nanny for the latest box-office king. She has one rule: no celebrity parents!

But as soon as Cara meets Brad and his adorable little girl, she knows she’s in for a world of trouble. Because there’s something about the way Brad looks at her that makes her believe that some rules are meant to be broken…"


Sounds interesting enough right? Or at the very least a easy late night read for when your brain needs a brake from overly complicate book plots (which happens to me often since I read YA fantasy a lot). 
Well, I am sorry to break this to you but this is not what you will get here. The plot is just wrong. The story does not work at all. There are a few sweet moments and the kid is adorable so I cannot give no stars at all, but it certainly no worth more than 1.5. 

It didn't start bad. Their first meeting was not about them, but about the kid. And I liked that. He recognized she was better with his kid than the other girl and he is meant to be a character used to getting what he wants because of money. So I understood and appreciated the way they met. I also liked the way they first met at his house. She accepted to come to consult to him, but not to work for him. Her honesty and straight forward talking was nice, refreshing even. But from that point onward everything went south.

The characters:
First we have Cara. She came across standoffish, cold, boring and forgettable. To be honest, her friend was a lot more interesting than she was. In the end I felt indifferent towards her, I will be surprised if I remember her name tomorrow morning.

Then we have Brad... How old is he meant to be? 15? because that is how he came across. He was immature, selfish, unappealing. He is meant to be this super sexy guy but his attitude is so 'meh' that I can't even picture the character in my mind. There were many times in the book were I question if Cara was babysitting him or the kid. It was seriously hard to tell.

The little girl was cute, adorable and mildly entertaining. The 1.5 score goes for her and the first 10 or so pages. That is it. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation