Skip to main content

The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L Armentrout - 5+/5 stars

This was a rather emotional read for me. I usually write a review immediately after I finish a book, I needed to give this a day. 
The most striking thing about it? How real it was. Anyone that says this book was not in touch with reality has clearly no understanding of what Mallory has experienced (or thinks their problems are the only real ones, sadly that does happen a lot). 

The blurb:
For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.


Mallory was, needless to say, perfection. She is shy, trained by the events in her past to not say anything. She knows talking has consequences and so she struggles to even say her name. I know it can sound to many a rather unrealistic thing, but it isn't. I can vouch for that, though we will not go into that here. 
She is sweet, brave in her own way and I LOVED reading her progress. It was a short book, and yet, it felt like I read someone's lifetime in it. Malory grew and changed so much in just a few hundred pages and in such a real, raw, emotional way. A masterpiece from Jennifer Armentrout. 

Rider was just as perfectly written. His strength and bravery for others while not having much believe in himself is such a real thing. He did the most adorable things to help Malory heal while not once really taking care of himself. It was beautiful as it was devastating. 

The relationship between them was also perfect. It moved at the right speed and in the right way. There is no 'instant love' but there is, and rightly so, an instant connection. They grew up together, 10 years under the same roof, suffering the same ordeals, relying on each other for everything. It makes sense they would connect and feel deeply for each other. The way their relationship evolved was really beautiful. 

I cannot praise this book enough. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation