Skip to main content

The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L Armentrout - 5+/5 stars

This was a rather emotional read for me. I usually write a review immediately after I finish a book, I needed to give this a day. 
The most striking thing about it? How real it was. Anyone that says this book was not in touch with reality has clearly no understanding of what Mallory has experienced (or thinks their problems are the only real ones, sadly that does happen a lot). 

The blurb:
For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.


Mallory was, needless to say, perfection. She is shy, trained by the events in her past to not say anything. She knows talking has consequences and so she struggles to even say her name. I know it can sound to many a rather unrealistic thing, but it isn't. I can vouch for that, though we will not go into that here. 
She is sweet, brave in her own way and I LOVED reading her progress. It was a short book, and yet, it felt like I read someone's lifetime in it. Malory grew and changed so much in just a few hundred pages and in such a real, raw, emotional way. A masterpiece from Jennifer Armentrout. 

Rider was just as perfectly written. His strength and bravery for others while not having much believe in himself is such a real thing. He did the most adorable things to help Malory heal while not once really taking care of himself. It was beautiful as it was devastating. 

The relationship between them was also perfect. It moved at the right speed and in the right way. There is no 'instant love' but there is, and rightly so, an instant connection. They grew up together, 10 years under the same roof, suffering the same ordeals, relying on each other for everything. It makes sense they would connect and feel deeply for each other. The way their relationship evolved was really beautiful. 

I cannot praise this book enough. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.