Skip to main content

Cole by Tijan - 5 stars

For the Book Blurb: Cole

Maaaaaaaan.... This was so good! I am officially hooked on Tijan's books. Cole was the third book I read by her and I have already started on the next one.

Although this book is not necessarily part of a series, I strongly believe you should read Carter Reed and Carter Reed II before reading Cole (I have short reviews for both books on my July wrap-up). I honestly do not believe I would have loved it as much I have had I gone into Cole blind. We learn nothing of him the first half of the book, he is just the mysterious guy that never speaks of his life. That was only ok for me because although the female character in the book, Addison, didn't know anything about him, I the reader did! I understood his secrecy, I understood his fears, I knew from the very beginning (even though it was not said in the book till much later) all that was going on with him that she didn't know. It made relating with him as easy as it was with her. I think it would have been very very hard to relate to him without knowing anything about him. So, if you trust my opinion at all, go read the Carter books prior to this. And if you love New Adult Romance, trust me, you will love all these books. 

Addison was such an interesting character. She has been through hell and back and the author did not shy away from her brokenness. It was rather refreshing reading an NA novel treating grief with some form of respect. So many NA novels are all about the passion between the main characters and nothing else. Addison saw her husband die in a car crush and a year later is still trying to move on. When her friend tells her there is an opening at an exclusive apartment in town she reluctantly goes to check it out, loves it and moves in. Than her path crosses with her neighbor...mysterious, handsome, dangerous!

Cole was awesome! Some reviews I've read had complained his character was undeveloped. Well... back to my first paragraph: read Carter! Cole doesn't appear 'that' much there, but enough (Carter Reed II mainly) to give you a solid background on him. It was fabulous getting to know him better. In Carter Reed II he has a much lighter mood. He is fun as well as dangerous and powerful. In Cole, for the grand part he is mysterious and dark, and when with Addison, loving and kind. There were so many layers to his personalty. I truly enjoyed his character!

I am looking forward to Carter Reed III already! Bring on more Carter and more Cole pls!!!!!!

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.