Skip to main content

Plague Land by Alex Scarrow- 3.7/5 stars

I am a tad speechless right now...
This was VERY out of my comfort zone. I do not usually read horror, zombie fiction (which this reminds me of), apocalyptic stuff, etc... 
Movies? yah... I watch those... but not books.
-->On that note: this would actually make one epic end-of-the-world movie!<--

The first part of Plague Land focused on Leon, his sister Grace, and their mother. The virus had just reached England and they are trying to run away from it to survive it.
The second part of the book focuses in part on Leon and Grace and in part on the virus itself. This is not any virus. It grows, it thinks, it creates...
New characters are also introduced here. Leon and Grace find refuge with other survivors and must fight to stay alive with them. Things go well for a while. But then the virus evolves...

By far the most interesting thing in the book is the actual virus. All through out you get chapters on how the virus thinks, on how it sees itself. On how it evolves from being a single cell brought to life with a drop of water to expanding, growing, and becoming so much more. An organism, a body, a form of life. 
It is sinister. It is gory.

Stories like that can be predictable, I genuinely don't think that was the case here. I was often shocked by the turn of events. Specially what happened to Grace... 
The book was intense! I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. It was also a fast read, I pretty much got it done in one go.
Please bear in mind this book is not for the faint-hearted. There is plenty of horrifying and graphic descriptions of deaths. It is brutal and gruesome. There is also an instant of attempted rape. It is not very graphic, but it is there. 

The ending was incomplete. But I guess this will be a series... 

All in all it was a very good book. But it was just not my style of reading. I am not the correct demographic for it. I think teenage boys who rather enjoy gruesome zombie like stuff will truly enjoy this. I am looking forward to seeing what the boys at the library I work at will think of it when the book comes out in December.

For the book blurb and release date: Plague Land- Amazon 






Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation