Skip to main content

A Case of Serendipity by K.J. Farnham

Hello sunnies! The lovely K.J Farnham send me a copy of this book and I dove into it as soon as I could. Funny story: I had to google serendipity before hand! 😉
In case I am not alone: "the occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way"
I gotta say...clever title! 

The Blurb:

Ruth Bateman is at her wit’s end. If Bucky’s Beans doesn’t stop spamming her phone with discount codes for frou-frou java concoctions, she’s going to flip. After multiple failed attempts to unsubscribe, Ruth takes to the company’s Facebook page to vent her frustration over the never-ending texts.


When attorney, Henry Mancuso, stumbles upon Ruth’s complaint, he has no idea that a simple Facebook scroll is going to change his life. Now, he has to get Ruth to agree to a class action lawsuit when she’s just looking for some peace on her mobile device—not a drawn-out case against a coffeehouse giant.

As Ruth and Henry battle the legal waters, a friendship full of fun and spontaneity blooms. But could something more be brewing between these two and this coffeehouse case? 



My thoughts: 3 Stars

Overall I think the book had a cute and fun set up and a very charming romance.
As the title suggests Ruth and Henry's paths cross by chance and they continue to bump into each other by chance afterwards too. They were perfect for each other in every way and I was rooting for them from the beginning.
Ruth was a quirky character I would love to have as a friend in real life. She felt real and that is always a plus! 
Henry also felt very real. He was the perfect example of a workaholic and I couldn't help but laugh every time Ruth found a way to lightly poke at him for it.
They are both kind-hearted people that deserved the love they found. Everything about them being together made sense. The humour and banter between them was flawlessly written as well and I looked forward to every dialogue/email between them. 
I said it before and I will again: K.J. Farnham is a great writer!

As much as I enjoyed their love story though there were negatives: It moved at a turtle's pace; it was very slow. Things got repeated a lot (specially about the case against the coffee house) and the romance didn't get anywhere until about 50% into the book. It often felt like the romance was secondary to the court case and that frustrated me. But, the second half of the book was a lot better than the first so it ended in a very good note.
Go Read!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation