Skip to main content

Waking the Dragon (Vale of Stars #1) by Juliette Cross [arc review]

Hello Sunnies!
I have missed my paranormal romance books, so this was a fabulous change of pace. Two days of bliss! 
Waking the Dragon by Juliette Cross was fabulous read and I cannot recommend it enough. There is action, there is romance, there are hot dragon-hybrid males....What is not to love? 😍


You might have read those few sentences before and that is because I reviewed this book a while back. But since Juliette is re-launching the book with a super sexy new cover it is just fair I update the review right?
Yah, I thought you would all agree...

And talking about new covers, here is the beauty:

hot hot hot hot hot



The review: 4.5 Stars

Moira and Kol were likable characters from the start and I will probably have a crush on Kol forever and ever... just saying!  
Moira works hard, is strong minded and goes after what she wants. She is a reporter and is investigating the death of three human women found in Morgon territory and she needs this story to advance in her career. What I liked about her is that she was not some damsel in distress. Moira might have gone a little far sometimes but she always knew what she was doing, she knew the risks, and was clever about all she did. She was not ashamed to ask her brother in law for help. He sends Kol, head of the guard.
Holly hotness! That's Kol.
He is likable for very different reasons. He is serious, quiet, and very confident. It is impossible not to be curious about him and get fond of him as we learn more about him and his family. 
The interactions between Kol and Moira are sizzling. He is a dominant character and she is not one to be dominated. Although in the end... hehe 

Lead the way, Kittycat.”

My mouth dropped. “Excuse me.”
“You heard me .” His voice was a low rumble, mere inches separating us.
“Don’t call me that.”
“Mmm. You sure enjoy judging others. Taciturn. Intimidating. Iceman. But you can’t handle how others see you.”

I clenched my jaw tight.
“Kittycat suits you. Sharp claws, watchful eyes, volatile when cornered.” He flicked my braid over my shoulder. I batted his hand away. His grin made me want to scream . “See what I mean.”


I struggled a little at the beginning but that is simply because I don't read crime fiction all that much and it came across like that for a while. It is a necessary part of the story though and it didn't focus on that alone for long.
All in all a great paranormal romance.

Waking the Dragon, Juliette Cross

And here is the old cover!


 Find the book at:

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.