Skip to main content

Shadow and Ice (Gods of War #1) by Gena Showalter [arc review]

Holly Mother of PNR! I think I found a new favorite PNR writer to love! 
I have the best book friends in the world and they know me well!
Why do I say that? because a few of them recommended that I read Gena Showalter. Because I trust them I bought the whole Lords of the Underworld series. I haven't started yet because I want to start at a time I know I will be able to binge on it. But that is not the point here... The point is, because I trust them, I decided to request and read Shadow and Ice, it is only one book at the moment after all...
And now that I have finished the book... when is the next one????? I NEED IT!!!
I'm hooked. This was FAB!

Shadow And Ice, Gena Showalter by @glimpses_of_my_books
The blurb:
Knox of Iviland has spent his life competing in the All Wars, where vicious warriors with supernatural powers fight to the death to claim new realms. One winner takes everything—and all losers die. Enslaved as a child for his ability to control shadows, the most ruthless champion in history will stop at nothing to kill his king. But first he must win the battle for Earth. When a fearsome weapon imprisons every combatant in ice, centuries pass without progress…until she walks in.

Vale London craves a fun arctic getaway with her foster sister before settling down to open a bakery. Street-tough but vulnerable, she is unprepared to find ancient gods escaping a frozen cave—merciless beings who target her when she inadvertently enters their war.

Though Vale is now his enemy, Knox is consumed with lust and a fierce need to protect her. But only one combatant can prove victorious, and he will have to choose: live for freedom, or die for love.
 



 5 Stars

I don't even know where to start... This book was INTENSE!

Knox was definitely what sold the book for me. He is a slave to his King and has no choice but to obey his orders until he can find a way to free himself. He has lost a lot and suffered much through the years. As the King's warrior his orders are rather simple: win at any cost. That cost becomes rather high when he develops feelings for Vale.
To like Knox you need to like the broody, moody, powerful, 'my way or the highway' alpha males. His character grows a lot as the story progresses and it is impossible not to fall for him (or at least I couldn't resist!)
Knox was, simply put: Sex on a Stick! hehe

Vale made me roll my eyes, lough, and want to scream at the book. She was not a bad character but she had bad moments. The story starts with Vale and her sister getting lost and accidentally finding themselves in the midst a bunch of frozen immortal warriors who (you guesses it) became free while they are around. To start the warrior Knox is the main attraction and Vale is just there to make his story possible. But once certain things happen to her (that I cannot tell you without spoiling it for you) her character becomes more important. She quickly adapts to her situation.

Although I personally loved this, I understand why some people struggled with it. There was a huge amount of information thrown at you. I however believe that if you are going to create a long series (as in more than 4 books) you need to create a complex world. And Gena did a marvelous job at that. There are so many possibilities for the books to come! At the same time, Shadow and Ice had a satisfactory hea. That is no small thing or easy thing to do. So go into this knowing you won't remember every last thing or even every last character in the end, and that doesn't matter. They are part of a bigger picture, one we are going to understand better as the series continues.

Find the book at:
GoodReads
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Kobo

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.