Skip to main content

Twice Dead (The Necromancer's Song #1) by Caitlin Seal [arc review]

This was such a refreshing Young Adult read. I haven't been reading much YA lately because I got tired of the same story been told again and again, so when I read the blurb for Twice Dead a few months ago I was excited. And it did not disappoint! 



Twice Dead, Caitlin Seal
The blurb:
Naya, the daughter of a sea merchant captain, nervously undertakes her first solo trading mission in the necromancer-friendly country bordering her homeland of Talmir. Unfortunately, she never even makes it to the meeting. She's struck down in the streets of Ceramor. Murdered.

But death is not the end for Naya. She awakens to realize she's become an abomination--a wraith, a ghostly creature bound by runes to the bones of her former corpse. She's been resurrected in order to become a spy for her country. Reluctantly, she assumes the face and persona of a servant girl named Blue.

She never intended to become embroiled in political plots, kidnapping, and murder. Or to fall in love with the young man and former necromancer she is destined to betray.
 



4 Stars

I really liked the main characters, they all had a special part to play for the story to work. 
Naya has been told her whole life that the undead and wraiths are abominations, things that should not exist. So when she wakes up one it takes some getting used to. But for her father and her home she does, she is important for their plans and is determined to help.
What she didn't count on is finding out that maybe wraiths are not as bad as her father believes or on falling in love for one.

The plot progressed at a good pace and it unfolded well. There was plenty of action, plot twists, political turmoil, and sweet moments. It was in many ways a typical YA: easy to read, some childish behavior, some growing up for the main characters, sometimes a little predictable... But story concept was unique! YA books focusing on necromancy are far in between and this one had an original take to it, it was refreshing.  

And of-course I love a good romance. Corten, Naya's love interest was absolutely adorable. Their slow burn romance was perfect, friends first, more later. I very much look forward to finding out what will happen to him (if anything) next, that ending was heartbreaking! 

Find the book at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b