Skip to main content

Twice Dead (The Necromancer's Song #1) by Caitlin Seal [arc review]

This was such a refreshing Young Adult read. I haven't been reading much YA lately because I got tired of the same story been told again and again, so when I read the blurb for Twice Dead a few months ago I was excited. And it did not disappoint! 



Twice Dead, Caitlin Seal
The blurb:
Naya, the daughter of a sea merchant captain, nervously undertakes her first solo trading mission in the necromancer-friendly country bordering her homeland of Talmir. Unfortunately, she never even makes it to the meeting. She's struck down in the streets of Ceramor. Murdered.

But death is not the end for Naya. She awakens to realize she's become an abomination--a wraith, a ghostly creature bound by runes to the bones of her former corpse. She's been resurrected in order to become a spy for her country. Reluctantly, she assumes the face and persona of a servant girl named Blue.

She never intended to become embroiled in political plots, kidnapping, and murder. Or to fall in love with the young man and former necromancer she is destined to betray.
 



4 Stars

I really liked the main characters, they all had a special part to play for the story to work. 
Naya has been told her whole life that the undead and wraiths are abominations, things that should not exist. So when she wakes up one it takes some getting used to. But for her father and her home she does, she is important for their plans and is determined to help.
What she didn't count on is finding out that maybe wraiths are not as bad as her father believes or on falling in love for one.

The plot progressed at a good pace and it unfolded well. There was plenty of action, plot twists, political turmoil, and sweet moments. It was in many ways a typical YA: easy to read, some childish behavior, some growing up for the main characters, sometimes a little predictable... But story concept was unique! YA books focusing on necromancy are far in between and this one had an original take to it, it was refreshing.  

And of-course I love a good romance. Corten, Naya's love interest was absolutely adorable. Their slow burn romance was perfect, friends first, more later. I very much look forward to finding out what will happen to him (if anything) next, that ending was heartbreaking! 

Find the book at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.