Skip to main content

Stalking Jack the Ripper (Stalking Jack the Ripper #1) by Kerri Maniscalco

Hello Sunnies! I have finally joined you all in reading Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco. I got the arc for the third book at BookCon this year and decided I was going to give the series a go as part of the Arctober Challenge hosted by the lovely Kimberley Faye Reads! If you like crime fiction , historical fiction, and YA this is definitely a book for you.


The Blurb:

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord's daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father's wishes and society's expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle's laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

The story's shocking twists and turns, augmented with real, sinister period photos, will make this dazzling, #1 New York Times bestselling debut from author Kerri Maniscalco impossible to forget.
 

This was a great crime fiction novel and the perfect read for October if you, like me, don't read horror but want something a little more gory for Halloween :) The story is gory, mysterious, eerie, and full of twists and turns. Some predictable, some not. I certainly did not guess who the Ripper would be until it was staring at me in the face. 
There is plenty of gruesome imagery as well, but not enough to make it distasteful. Kerri Maniscalco did a fantastic job writing a Young Adult-Historical Fiction-Crime Fiction combo story (yup, that's what I am calling it!). 

The main characters are for the most part what you would expect teenagers to be like. They have their moments of brilliance and their moments of utter annoyance. 

Thomas Cresswell is loved by most readers and I can see why. He is handsome, clever (reminded me of Sherlock Holmes) and full of sass. What is not to love right?
His inappropriate sense of humour and rather high view of himself created some rather hilarious moments and gave a levity to the story that was needed and appreciated.

Aubrey Rose was an entertaining character- brave, defiant, passionate. But she was also daft and annoying. Although I really enjoyed her passion for dissecting cadavers and her clever brain I cannot say I loved her character as a whole. 

All in all it was a great book. Well, written and entertaining. 
The biggest downside for me was that Aubrey Rose was yet another special little flower (the Mary Sue trope at it again!).

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation