Skip to main content

Click Date Repeat (Click Date Repeat #1) by K.J. Farnham

Hi sunnies! I have to write two reviews today for books that didn't quite work for me. I am not a big fun of those, but honesty is key right?
That being said, let me first say that I think K.J. Farnham is a great writer. Click Date Repeat is not a small book and she wrote it well. The story may not have worked for me, but that is not due to her writing skills.



The Blurb:
These days, finding love online is as commonplace as ordering that coveted sweater. But back in 2003, the whole concept of internet dating was still quite new, with a stigma attached to it that meant those who were willing to test the waters faced a fair amount of skepticism from friends and family. Such is the case for Chloe Thompson, a restless 20-something tired of the typical dating scene and curious about what she might find inside her parents' computer. With two serious but failed relationships behind her, Chloe isn't even entirely sure what she's looking for. She just knows that whatever it is, she wants to find it.

Chloe's foray into online dating involves a head-first dive into a world of matches, ice breakers and the occasional offer of dick pics, all while Chloe strives to shake herself of the ex who just refuses to disappear. Will she simultaneously find herself and "the one" online, or will the ever-growing pile of humorous and downright disastrous dates only prove her friends and family right? There's only one way to find out...
Click. Date. Repeat.



1.5 Stars

Click Date Repeat is exactly what the title suggests. Chloe starts online dating, she clicks, dates, and when things go wrong, repeats. 
Roughly at 80% into the book she has met so many different guys it is impossible to keep track.
It is a realistic view on online dating and for that I gotta give the author credit. But we meet so many different man and Chloe gets drunk so often that calling this book a romance is a stretch, a big one. The romance is from minimal to non-existent.

Chloe's friends are terrible. I don't even remember last time I disliked secondary characters this much. They have the worst advise possible, have horrible relationships themselves, treat each other like crap and even slut shame each other. This is not a healthy description of friendship.
And let's not forget the crazy mother. Her mother is a nightmare married to a man she clearly can't stand all that much.

The man she meets could potentially make an entertaining story, but it is instead creepy. From stalkers, to creeper, to guys in relationships and even a rapist. Cause I am sorry, but if you are passed out drunk and a guy still has sex with you, that is what he is. The fact she apologized to him later made me want to scream at the book, the guy should have stopped. And than she continues to see him later only to ditch him when he turns out to be a nice guy and want to have something serious with her (although the nice guy comment is up to debate).

Anyway... here is what I thought in the end: If you want to read a somewhat accurate account of how online dating can go wrong where the main character is a drunken idiot with terrible friends, than by all means, read it. But I don't think most of my readers here are into that.

Obviously, a huge thank you to the lovely Lola for the book. 
There is a book for everyone, and this one sadly was not for me. 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.