Skip to main content

Click Date Repeat (Click Date Repeat #1) by K.J. Farnham

Hi sunnies! I have to write two reviews today for books that didn't quite work for me. I am not a big fun of those, but honesty is key right?
That being said, let me first say that I think K.J. Farnham is a great writer. Click Date Repeat is not a small book and she wrote it well. The story may not have worked for me, but that is not due to her writing skills.



The Blurb:
These days, finding love online is as commonplace as ordering that coveted sweater. But back in 2003, the whole concept of internet dating was still quite new, with a stigma attached to it that meant those who were willing to test the waters faced a fair amount of skepticism from friends and family. Such is the case for Chloe Thompson, a restless 20-something tired of the typical dating scene and curious about what she might find inside her parents' computer. With two serious but failed relationships behind her, Chloe isn't even entirely sure what she's looking for. She just knows that whatever it is, she wants to find it.

Chloe's foray into online dating involves a head-first dive into a world of matches, ice breakers and the occasional offer of dick pics, all while Chloe strives to shake herself of the ex who just refuses to disappear. Will she simultaneously find herself and "the one" online, or will the ever-growing pile of humorous and downright disastrous dates only prove her friends and family right? There's only one way to find out...
Click. Date. Repeat.



1.5 Stars

Click Date Repeat is exactly what the title suggests. Chloe starts online dating, she clicks, dates, and when things go wrong, repeats. 
Roughly at 80% into the book she has met so many different guys it is impossible to keep track.
It is a realistic view on online dating and for that I gotta give the author credit. But we meet so many different man and Chloe gets drunk so often that calling this book a romance is a stretch, a big one. The romance is from minimal to non-existent.

Chloe's friends are terrible. I don't even remember last time I disliked secondary characters this much. They have the worst advise possible, have horrible relationships themselves, treat each other like crap and even slut shame each other. This is not a healthy description of friendship.
And let's not forget the crazy mother. Her mother is a nightmare married to a man she clearly can't stand all that much.

The man she meets could potentially make an entertaining story, but it is instead creepy. From stalkers, to creeper, to guys in relationships and even a rapist. Cause I am sorry, but if you are passed out drunk and a guy still has sex with you, that is what he is. The fact she apologized to him later made me want to scream at the book, the guy should have stopped. And than she continues to see him later only to ditch him when he turns out to be a nice guy and want to have something serious with her (although the nice guy comment is up to debate).

Anyway... here is what I thought in the end: If you want to read a somewhat accurate account of how online dating can go wrong where the main character is a drunken idiot with terrible friends, than by all means, read it. But I don't think most of my readers here are into that.

Obviously, a huge thank you to the lovely Lola for the book. 
There is a book for everyone, and this one sadly was not for me. 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b