Skip to main content

Frost Burn (Fire and Ice #1) by Erica Stevens



Frost Burn was the book picked for this month's PNR Book Club held by PNR Book Lover Reviews blog. I did not dislike this book, but sadly I can't say I loved it either....


Blurb:
After years of running, Quinn has finally found a town to settle down in while she searches for the man who tore her life apart. Despite her every intention not to, she’s started to put down some roots and make friends. However, the small bit of solace she’s found is quickly shattered when a group of vampires walk into the bar where she works and turn her life upside down. 

Looking only to stop for a few nights and have a good time, Julian never expected to stumble across someone like Quinn. Determined to keep her free from the vampires looking to use her as a weapon, Julian is stunned to discover himself starting to care for the mysterious woman with a dark past she’s unwilling to reveal. It doesn’t take him long to realize that the vampires after her are only a part of the problem. This quiet little town is hiding a violent secret of its own; a secret that not only threatens the town, but Quinn in particular. 



2.5 Stars

Frost Burn is meant to be about Quinn and Julian. Quinn has been through hell and back and wants revenge to what was done to her. But she is also in hiding and afraid of those who might come after her. 
Julian is a very old vampire trying to be better, he doesn't want to be the monster he once was. When his paths crosses with Quinn he wants to help her. She doesn't want his help, but he is as stubborn as she is....

The main reason I didn't love Frost Burn is that it claims this: "The Fire and Ice series is a spinoff based on characters from The Kindred Series. You do not have to read The Kindred Series in order to enjoy this book or its successors."
However that is not true. If you have not read the other series (which I haven't) you will undoubtedly feel lost or bombarded with random pointless information. I really did not enjoy that. At the beginning of the book I didn't know exactly what was going on, I felt I should have known things prior to reading it. And when we got half way I was just bored with the amount of information dumping that was given (necessary when you mention characters and plot from other books so much). So yah... that was my biggest problem with this book...
The other thing that didn't work for me was maturity level. PNR's (for me at least, I realize this complaint is personal) need to be adult romances. This was paranormal YA*. The blurb also says The maturity level of this series will grow with each book and is recommended for readers 17+ so I know that will improve as the series progresses, but it was sadly one other thing that did not work for me here. 

All in all it wasn't a bad book. But there was no way for me to truly enjoy it without having read the other series. So it ended up being very mediocre for me. 

*I'm labeling this as YA. But please note I have not read the other books in the series and the blurb itself does claim that the maturity level go up. The YA label is for Frost Burn only and it is my personal opinion. The publisher probably classifies it differently. 

Comments

  1. PNR Book Lover ReviewsOctober 19, 2018 at 7:42 PM

    Love your review and honest feedback!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation