Skip to main content

Betting On Him (A Wilde Love Novel) by Kelly Collins [arc review]

I have a soft spot for Mafia Romances, so I had to read this one. It was an interesting and sexy marriage of convenience story. The plot made sense and the main characters were easy to like. 



Betting on him, Kelly Collins
The blurb:
He’s a gangster going straight. She’s a waitress going bankrupt. Will their gamble on a marriage of convenience pay off in true love?

Alex Wilde desperately wants to be free of the family’s mob business. But when his infamous father is murdered, the family attorney makes a suggestion he can’t ignore: find a bride before the funeral or they'll force a wedding with a nice Russian gangster girl. When he meets a feisty cocktail waitress, he thinks he’s found his way out.

Faye Tandy is desperately in debt and hard-pressed to find help. Alex’s offer of a phony marriage for a ton of cash couldn’t come at a better time and she’s happy to help him exit the criminal world. The fact that he’s tall, dark, and handsome is an attractive bonus. But when she discovers the Russians have a contract out on her head, she wonders if divorced and bankrupt would be a better choice than rich and dead...

As Faye’s fake feelings for Alex turn real, she’s terrified her trip to the altar might be her last. Will Alex and Faye’s throw of the dice succeed or will they lose the lawless game of love?




4 Stars

I have discovered so many great romance authors this year, it has been phenomenal. This was my first book by Kelly Collins and I thoroughly enjoyed it. 

Alex has been forced into an arranged marriage and the only way to get out of it without hurting his brothers is marrying someone else. And Faye has a lot of debts and is running the risk of being evicted. So when their paths cross they find they are the solution to each other's problems.
What starts as a marriage of convenience slowly becomes a very real one for both of them. Alex and Faye had a lot of chemistry, their scenes together were off the charts. Both characters were really well written.
As far as Mafia Romances go it both was and wasn't what I was expecting. I will explain: it was because there was certainly a lot of Mafia involvement. Alex's dad used to lead the family and now it  is all left to Alex. He doesn't want to deal with any of the illegal crap his father did but he has little choice to start. But it wasn't because Alex spent the whole book going clean, under-covering other Mafia bosses, and even helping the FBI. I like my bad boys on Mafia Romances, so I guess that is part of my disappointment...LOL
I specially liked the side characters though and I am looking forward to the next Wilde Love Novels. By the way the story is set up they have the potential to be even better than Betting on Him was.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation