Skip to main content

Secrets of a (Somewhat) Sunny Girl by Karen Booth [arc review]

This was a sweet read about the beautiful bond between sisters! 



The Blurb:


As sisters, they tell each other all their secrets...except one.


With divorce and infidelity hanging from nearly every branch of her family tree, Katherine Fuller sees no point in marriage. Boyfriends? Sure. Sex? Of course. Wedding vows? No, thanks. Still, when her younger sister Amy gets engaged, Katherine gathers all the enthusiasm she can. She won’t let Amy down. She’s done enough of that for a lifetime.

As the sisters embark on wedding plans, Katherine’s college love resurfaces. It nearly killed Katherine to part from sexy Irish musician Eamon more than a decade ago, but falling under his spell a second time forces her to confront everything she hid from him. The secrets surrounding her mother’s death are still fresh and raw in her mind, but one has haunted her more than the others. She can’t bear to tell anyone, especially not Amy. It could ruin far more than a wedding. It could destroy a sister’s love forever.




3 Stars

Secrets of a (somewhat) sunny girl is all about family relationships, specially the relationship between the sisters Katherine and Amy. These two have been through a lot and coming from a family were no marriage seems to work or last they have always been set on never getting married. That is until Amy meets someone that is willing to prove to her some marriages do last.
Katherine is petrified of losing her sister, of this guy hurting her, but she will also do anything to see her sister happy. And right now, that is smiling and pretending to be happy about the wedding. 
A lot of drama unfolds as the story progresses. We slowly find out exactly what happened in these girls past, we meet their dad, their grandma, find out some pretty big family secrets....
While all this is happening we also get a glimpse of how great a guy Amy is marrying and a look at Katherine's past relationship. Her ex, the one she never told her sister about is in town and he wants to reconnect. 

Although I really enjoyed this book it was more contemporary fiction than it was romance (and you guys know me by now, I almost only read romance and ya fantasy). So, it was a good book. A great book even! The way the relationship between the sisters was portrayed was great. It just wasn't what I usually read and because the romance was so overshadow by that I can't say that I loved it. There was almost no chemistry between the main female and male characters to speak off. This was a second chance romance with no spark...

Secrets of a (Somewhat) Sunny Girl by Karen Booth

Release Date: October 16, 2018

Length: 318 pages

Subgenre: Romantic Women’s Fiction

Order now: Amazon
GoodReads

Thanks A Novel Take PR for the book.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation