Skip to main content

The Christmas Dare (Twilight, Texas #10) by Lori Wilde [arc review]

A jilted-at-the-altar bride reunites with her high school sweetheart in Lori Wilde’s sensational new Twilight, Texas Christmas novel.


Blurb:
Kelsey James always played by the rules and look where it got her—dumped and half-drunk in a poofy white dress, her Christmas wedding ruined. Then her best friend talks her into going on her “honeymoon” anyway, daring her to a “Christmas of Yes.” It’s about time she lets loose a little, so Kelsey agrees to say “yes” to fun, to romance, and to adventure! And adventure leads her right smack into the arms of sexy Noah MacGregor.

Noah’s never one to say no to a risk—from leading his NBA team to victory to making Christmas cookies in Twilight, he’s up to the challenge! But a lot has gone on since they were teenagers, and he knows he has to take his time to make Kelsey dare to believe that what they feel is more than just the holiday magic that’s in the air . . .
 


The Review: 3 Stars

The Christmas Dare had a little bit more angst than most holiday themed romance books, and therefore, I liked it a little more than most. It has some 'meat' to it -for luck of a better expression right now...

Noah is a easy go happy kind of guy. Always in a good mood, always with a smile on his face, always ready to help. He doesn't let things bring him down, for better or worse, he just moves on to better things. One of those things was his relationship with Kelsey. They were young though, so one can forgive them both for that mishap. I liked his character, liked his love for everything Christmas, his love for his family and his small town. Everything about him screamed fun and comfort.
  
Kelsey was a different story all together. She had great moments but for the most part her character was unbearable. She was always winning, felling sorry for herself, and yet not willing to do anything about it. The author tried to make her come across as someone naive, but her naivete at that age was just unralatable and not at all believable. Specially when it is obvious her friends, Noah, her father, and everyone else around her can both see what she is not seeing and has tried to tell her as much a million times. She just ended up coming across stupid and childish. 

The secondary characters were amazing!!! It is no wonder this series is going on book 10 (though you can read this easily as a stand alone). Every single one of those side characters deserves his/her own story -the ones that don't have one yet anyway-. 

All in all, I really liked this Christmas novel, which is not something I say often about Christmas novels... I just wish Kelsey hadn't annoyed me as much as she did.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop
Release Date: October 22nd, 2019



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation