Skip to main content

The Last King (The Kings #1) by Katee Robert

The Last King, Katee Robert 
For those who don't know I run a Romance Book Club at Inklings Bookshop in Washington State. Katee Robert will (hopefully, no one wants this COVID madness to last that long), be in our store this August with a bunch of other amazing authors and I wanted to introduce my book club to her. I like a little spice on my books so although I've read her books, it was her Mafia Romance series and not this one. Well, I guess now I found another series to be hooked on, it was fab :)

Blurb:
Ultra wealthy and super powerful, the King family is like royalty in Texas. But who will keep the throne? New York Times bestselling author Katee Robert introduces a red-hot new series.

THE MAN SHE HATES TO LOVE

Beckett King just inherited his father's fortune, his company-and all his enemies. If he's going to stay on top, he needs someone he can trust beside him. And though they've been rivals for years, there's no one he trusts more than Samara Mallick.

The rebel. That's how Samara has always thought of Beckett. And he's absolutely living up to his unpredictable ways when he strides into her office and asks for help. She can't help wondering if it's a legit request or just a ploy to get her into bed. Not that she'd mind either one. After all, she likes to live on the edge too.
But soon the threats to the King empire are mounting, and the two find family secrets darker than they ever imagined and dangerous enough to get them both killed.

The Review: 4.5 Stars

Romantic suspense and me have a funny relationship. Some I love, some I despise. I need my romance books to have the romance as the main focus and rather often romantic suspense books have the romance as a secondary thing. That is so not ok for me. And so, I always go into these kinds of books a little nervous. I should have known Katee would not do that to me. This book was HOT HOT HOT. The romance, the chemistry between the main characters, the suspense... all of it had the right balance. 

Samara was not easy to love. She has a strong personality and at the start came across rather selfish and bitchy. But as the story progresses a whole new side of her comes to life. She is loyal and kind. She cares about those she loves and will stand by their side doesn't matter what. 

Beckett was dreamy with capital D. This man was seriously charismatic. Is he a little sure of himself and tad cocky? well yah... He is gorgeous and rich, why wouldn't he be? but he is also a little damaged.  His character was so well written I could feel his pain and loneliness through my bones while reading it.  It was impossible not to feel for him. 

As for negatives, I think the book got a little slow at times, to the point that at one occasion I was tempted to skip read a little. I didn't, but the temptation was there, so it can't be a 5 from me. Did that stop me from continuing reading though? no way. Two sittings and done!

Needless to say, I highly recommend Katee's books! Not just The Last King but all her other books too. This lady is very talented and I can't wait to meet her :) 

Find the book at: Inklings Bookshop

In support to indie stores who are struggling right now no Amazon link will be added. The indie store above IS offering free shipping at this time! Give them a helping hand! Thanks :)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation