Skip to main content

Pestilence (The Four Horsemen #1) by Laura Thalassa

This book had been sitting on my kindle for a while, and now that the second one was released - War - I thought it was time to stop procrastinating and read it. I am glad I did :)

Blurb:
They came to earth—Pestilence, War, Famine, Death—four horsemen riding their screaming steeds, racing to the corners of the world. Four horsemen with the power to destroy all of humanity. They came to earth, and they came to end us all.

When Pestilence comes for Sara Burn’s town, one thing is certain: everyone she knows and loves is marked for death. Unless, of course, the angelic-looking horseman is stopped, which is exactly what Sara has in mind when she shoots the unholy beast off his steed.

Too bad no one told her Pestilence can’t be killed. 

Now the horseman, very much alive and very pissed off, has taken her prisoner, and he’s eager to make her suffer. Only, the longer she’s with him, the more uncertain she is about his true feelings towards her … and hers towards him. 

And now, well, Sara might still be able to save the world, but in order to do so, she'll have to sacrifice her heart in the process.


The Review: 4.5 Stars

I think we should start by admiring the book cover. Holy Mother of Smut that is hot! Can I have one of him please? I am not often a cover buy person but I was sold the second I saw this one :) And the next book, War, has a really good one too. 

Another thing to mentioned straight away is that I don't think this will be everyone's cup of tea. It is not a dark romance per-se but it definitely has some dark features. The heroine burns him alive and she is tortured by him when he doesn't die, and not mildly so either. Stockholm syndrome at its worse? best? now that depends on the point of view...
I for one love a bad boy -or in this case a morally gray character- and adore a good redemption story. So the romance itself gets a good big huge 5 star from me.

The plot is absolutely brilliant! And so creative as well. Gotta applaud Laura Thalassa for originality. And the fact she never, not for a second shied away from the gruesomeness that it would be if said horseman were real deserves brownie points too. Everything worked brilliantly.

Pestilence was an amazing character. Set on his ways and determined to do what he came to earth to do. He was also horrid for that exact same reason. 
Sara is a fighter and a survivor. And most importantly, a good person, a merciful and hopeful person. The exact thing Pestilence needed by his side to maybe, jut maybe re-evaluate his 'work'.

I really loved the book and it is hard to find anything to fault on it. But, it was a tad wordy. There were a few instances I just wanted the writer to get on with the story already. Not enough to love it any less though. So go read it :)

Find the book at: Goodreads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation