Skip to main content

A Heart of Blood and Ashes (A Gathering of Dragons #1) by Milla Vane [arc review]

A Heart of Blood and Ashes, Milla Vane
I've been dying to read this book ever since I heard about it. When the arc arrived I almost fell off my chair though, the book is huge for a massive market paperback. I knew it would take me a while to finish it... it took more than a little while...


Blurb:
A generation past, the western realms were embroiled in endless war. Then the Destroyer came. From the blood and ashes he left behind, a tenuous alliance rose between the barbarian riders of Parsathe and the walled kingdoms of the south. That alliance is all that stands against the return of an ancient evil—until the barbarian king and queen are slain in an act of bloody betrayal.

Though forbidden by the alliance council to kill the corrupt king responsible for his parents’ murders, Maddek vows to avenge them, even if it costs him the Parsathean crown. But when he learns it was the king’s daughter who lured his parents to their deaths, the barbarian warrior is determined to make her pay.

Yet the woman Maddek captures is not what he expected. Though the last in a line of legendary warrior-queens, Yvenne is small and weak, and the sharpest weapons she wields are her mind and her tongue. Even more surprising is the marriage she proposes to unite them in their goals and to claim their thrones—because her desire for vengeance against her father burns even hotter than his own…
 

The Review: 2.5 Stars

This is not going to be the easiest review to write. I liked the book, a lot. But I also really disliked it at times and I certainly wish it was way shorter. 

Maddek is a great warrior and great commander. The book starts with him learning of the death of his parents and he is blinded by the need of vengeance from that point onward. He is unable to see truth from lie and although he does care for heroine, he is also very disrespectful and rude. He doesn't rape her and never would, but he certainly thinks about it and talks in  a manner reminiscent to it. At times, that was ok, she was obviously into him and liked his crass language. Other times it was painful to read. In short, Maddek is a great warrior, but certainly not a great man. 
Yvenne is the last heir of Nyset and she has been locked away, hurt, and tortured her whole life. She wants vengeance against her father just as much as Maddek. But she wants more from Maddek than he is willing to give too... She takes a lot of crap from Maddek because of her romantic feelings for him. Yvenne is physically weak and cannot fight, but that does not make her weak in mind and spirit. She was a strong character through out, loyal and honorable. 
There was a lot of chemistry between them and plenty of hot steamy scenes. Most of them were nice to read. Some however were cringe worthy ...

I absolutely love a good romantic fantasy and those are not easy to find, A Heart of Blood and Ashes had a lot potential for that alone. But, the fantasy elements were minimal. The subtitle "A Gathering of Dragons" does not, as you would hope, refers to mythical dragons. Rather is the title given to the group of warriors that protects their king. Cool title, cool idea, very clever explanation of the job of each individual... but also disappointing. The magical system is interesting enough, but I confess I skimmed read a lot of it because I just wanted the darn book to end. Which leads to  another negative: the book was unnecessarily long. I get it, the first book in a series is often a tad long because of the world building necessary for the next books, but even with that in mind it was just too much. I was bored to death far too often and ended up skim reading way too much.

So as I said, I liked the book. Maddek and Yvenne had an interesting relationship and the members of the dragon were all fabulous secondary characters. But if the second book comes out and it is anywhere near as long as this one I am passing. I can handle some awkward scenes here and there, unnecessarily long books?! not so much.


Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Inklings Bookshop





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b