Skip to main content

Could Be Something Good (Timber Falls #1) by Fiona West

I am lucky enough to get some pretty good books -arcs and freebies- through work. This beauty was one of them. Thank you so much Fiona West for sending me a copy of your book. I loved it!

The Blurb:
It was love at first brush-off...

Dr. Daniel Durand wanted Winnie Baker the minute he laid eyes on her. Never mind that she's his attending physician's daughter, can't stand him, and she's a few years older than him. Giving up would've been the smart thing to do when the hot blonde midwife gave him the cold shoulder at the elevators his first week of residency at Santiam, but he never did give up easy. After bonding over early-morning Mexican food, can he convince her that he's just the arm candy she needs for that wedding...and get her to consider one of their own?

Winnie Baker isn’t taking her cousin to another wedding. Her mentor's big day is far too important to miss. And she's not going by herself, not with her ex-boyfriend promising to be in attendance and blowing up her phone with texts on a weekly basis, asking for another chance. But the pickings are a bit slim in Timber Falls, a sleepy Oregon town in the foothills of the Cascades. She moved here to focus on building her midwifery practice, not get involved with cute millennial boys with trendy shoes and long eyelashes. And yet, even this small rural hospital is feeling a bit crowded, with her mother and her group of doctors-in-training constantly underfoot...especially since she was supposed to be one of those doctors.

Will an easy-going guy like Daniel still be interested when she spills her secret?

Could Be Something Good is the first book in the Timber Falls romantic comedy series. It contains mild cursing, a make-out scene involving melted butter and stolen moments in medical supply closets, but no open door sex scenes. If you like ridiculous bets, meddling relatives, and reverse dates, grab this book now. 

Book Review: 4 Stars

Age gap romance, meets medical romance, meets romcom. It was a brilliant book and I am so so so happy to have found this author and book through work. 

Daniel was a delight. Fun and easy going while at the same time responsible and knowledgeable. His struggles to read where portrayed beautifully. His pursue of Winnie was respectful and smartly written.
Winnie was a great character as well. A fantastic midwife with a lot on her plate and an overbearing mother. 

The only part I didn't love was the bet. I won't say much not to spoil it for you but it was petty and childish. Winnie and Daniel were so great and mature that spoiled it a little.
That being said, it was still an AMAZING book and I highly recommend it to anyone that loves an age gap romance written well.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

In support to indie stores who are struggling right now no Amazon link will be added. The indie store above IS offering free shipping at this time! Give them a helping hand! Thanks :)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation