Skip to main content

Crystal Storm (Falling Kingdoms) by Morgan Rhodes- 10 out of 5! AMAZING

The Queen Morgan Rhodes never ceases to amaze me. This book was as epic as all the other books in the Falling Kingdoms series.
That cliffhanger though... my heart is in tatters! I AM NOT OK WITH THE ENDING! What's up with the queens of YA this year (Sarah J Mass and Morgan Rhodes) and their 'thing', 'obsession', 'prone to torture tendencies', or whatever it is you want to call it at the end of their books? 2017 is going to be, to us YA readers, a year of healing. And a well needed one! Between Empire of Storms, A Court of Mist and Fury and now Crystal Storm I am truly done with book series and their mean cliffhanging endings for a while. I shall only read stand alones this january. I need a brake! Luckily for me my tbr list is huge and I can give myself that time. Seriously guys... the ending is very disturbing! I am with Cleo 100%: "I don't think this world will survive my grief".

Ok. so...the book...
It starts with King Gaius 17 years prior and than it picks up where Frozen Tides left off, beginning with Jonas.  All the characters stories move forward towards one epic ending.
Not much happens to Jonas until half way through the book. He is an important piece of the puzzle and I guess we will have a lot more of him on the last book in the series. The same can be said about Lucia, and since their lives are somewhat connected, even more so.
Cleo and Magnus work in their new found relationship, but needless to say there are complications. Also, Cleo is very careful with her feelings and her heart, a lot more than Magnus. He wonders at times if she is playing him, not without reason may I add...It is not until the very end of the book that things change (although who knows... might be too late for that. Hurry up Nov 2017!).
Ashrur is an idiot. The only time he does graces us with his presence is to do something utterly stupid.
Amara is still trying to take over the world. That being said, I like her. She has sass and determination and she is not straight up evil. She has her reasons to be the way she is. Not good ones...but still!
King Gaius is still as evil as ever. But just like Amara, not without reason. I love how Morgan Rhodes made the evil characters in the book somehow relatable and hard to hate. The only evil character easy to hate is Kyan.

Now lets go back to Magnus... this whole book is worth reading just because of him. The man has been through a lot. Changed so much and so little at the same time. His smartass comments are priceless and every time you finish one of his chapters you are dying to get to the next.
I must say I particularly love that it is Magnus and Felix that have the sass in this book. There is a whole 'girl power' thing going on on YA lately and the boys are sometimes just the broody males and nothing more (don't get me wrong here peeps, I like the girl power too, just not all the time). I like how Morgan Rhodes portrays him, how much heart she gives him. How much light she gives to his inner thoughts and insecurities as well as to his dangerous-broody-moody person! The complexity of Magnus' inner battle between his more soft side and his prone to violence side makes for a very compelling read. He is a well though character from every angle.

Conclusion: I hate you (due to the ending) so very much Morgan Rhodes that the saying love and hate walk hand in hand must be true. Because gosh I love yah woman! Yet another amazing book and I can't wait for the Falling Kingdoms finale! Hail to the Queens of YA!

Comments

  1. your review makes me want to read it! I added it to GR! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad to hear it! I love the author and I love the series!

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.