Skip to main content

Daughter of Smoke and Bone: 5 out of 5

Daughter of Smoke and Bone ended up being a lot better than I expected. After I finished reading the Lunar Chronicles (and loved it!) I wasn't sure this was going to be as good. It Was!

GoodReads synopsis of the book:
"Around the world, black hand prints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.
In a dark and dusty shop, a devil's supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.
And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherworldly war.
Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she's prone to disappearing on mysterious "errands", she speaks many languages - not all of them human - and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her had that color. Who is she? That is the Question that haunts her, and she is about to find out.
When beautiful, haunted Avika fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?"

There are many reasons why I loved this book.
The first:
"Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love. It did not end well"
The story goes against ya fantasy norm. There is nothing cliche about it.
The couple does not end up together (and I can say that because that little quote above is the first page of the book, so not really a spoiler)
And it is not just one love story. First we meet Karou...and then we meet 'another' girl...Both love stories are beautifully written and work together perfectly.

Two: the book is not however a love story. It is not about angels or demons. That's what you would expect out of that very first page, but it is not what it is. There are love stories in it, there are angels, monsters, but that is not what the book is about.
Family, friendship, growth, betrayal! Those are the books real themes. And revenge! Lets not forget Revenge.

Three: the characters aren't predictable.
Avika is not the usual good pure angel you would find in books, he is bad-ass set in revenge. His wings burn, he is merciless. He has a very tortured soul...
And Karou is not Devil itself. Neither is her family. They are monsters, but even monsters have a heart! That being said, revenge changes people. We shall see what book two has in store.
The fallen angels are...well... fallen, I wont say more. 'Yuck' is enough!

Anyway... there are many reasons to love Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Those were just a few. Hopefully it gives you enough of a glimpse into a great world and you will not resist the temptation to read it too!



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.