Skip to main content

King's Cage by Victoria Aveyard- 4 Stars

Gosh it was slow.... Good, but also very very very slow.
Glass Sword and King's Cage could have been one book rather than two. A lot of repetition. It dragged on and on and on... 
Red Queen still my favorite book in the series. King's Cage comes close second.

And the ending... ?! soooooo angry!!!!!

Maven was an amazing character.  We learnt a lot more of him in King's Cage. Victoria Aveyard gave us a little pick into his mind. We get moments where we see his fragility, the explanation for his brokenness... He is such a wonderful beautiful character, my favorite for sure. Okay, he is evil and I will not deny that. He is not a good person. But there is a reason for it, and I can't help but love the boy and feel bad for him. Can you imagine someone stripping you of your essence? He is proof monsters are made, one is not born that way. He will never be good, he is darkness itself (not unless someone really powerful fixes years of damage done to his poor brain anyway... And as of now such person does not exist). In a way, I think he deserves more than Mare. And in turn, Mare deserves more than Cal. He is a clever King too.

So... Cal... He is extremely naive. 
I can't really tell exactly what I think of him without giving the ending away. Truly.... I wrote my opinion of him three times now and I always end up saying too much. He is Prince Tiberias the Seventh, an idiot, and I hate him! For a moment, a few chapters, I had hope for him. Obviously that did not last. Go read the book and you will know why.

Mare grows a lot on this book. Really a lot! I am rather impressed with her development. Mare goes through hell and does not let it define her or take her down. Its hard for her, she struggles, but she never gives up. The book spends a whole lot of time exploring her feelings and her development into a heroine worth our time (part of why it gets so boring and repetitive at times, worth it in the end? maybe a little). Mare fights, and she fights with all she is and all she has. She fights with her mind when she cannot fight with her body. She fights with her body when her mind cannot. She fights with her abilities when she finally gets it back. 

The secondary characters are wonderful, we just don't get enough of them. Farley is the strongest woman out there. Kilorn doesn't show up much, but when he does you can't help but feel at home. He gives us the readers the same feeling of unison that he gives the characters in the book. Evangeline is a surprise. A big surprise. Can you believe I am actually looking forward to reading more on her?

Many were heartbroken with the ending. I was just pissed. Real angry. Victoria Aveyard did a great job with that ending. It made up for all the slow motion crap from the beginning of the book. 

I cannot give more than 4 stars for two reason: one, because it was slow. But two, and more important than one, was that Maven disappeared a third into the book. I can't tell you why without giving the story away... it annoyed me though. You can't just disappear with such an important character. She didn't do that to Cal and the others when the focus was on Maven, so why do that when it is the other way around? Frustrating.  

The best lines in the book are all Maven's. Obvs.!
"Love makes you weak. And she is right. I learned that before I even knew you."
"Those who know what is like in the dark will do anythings to stay in the light"
" 'Don't act like we are the same' 'The same? No.' He shakes his head. 'But perhaps...we are even'"?

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation