Skip to main content

UpperCase vs OwlCrate

I should start by making it clear I have been an UpperCase  subscriber for a while and that I love them! My love affair with UpperCase is not yet a year long, but it is close. In that time, I have only been disappointed with the box once. 
There have surely been books I did not give 5 stars, but I will not judge a book box subscription on that. The YA category encompasses a rather large variety of genres and it is impossible to please every subscriber every month. For example: one of the books I was not a fan of was Vassa in the Night. Almost all my bookstagrammer followers however loved that book...

Now for this month's subscription comparisons
UpperCase  vs OwlCrate:



UpperCase contents ($23.00box+$6.50delivery=$29.50) :
Jane Austen socks by SockSmith;
Gold Foil Book Stack Art Print by Belle Adele Co;
Book Hoarder Sticker by Alexis Lampley;
Hunted Bookmark;
Hunted by Meagan Spooner, Signed!



OwlCrate contents ($29.99box+$6.99 delivery=$36.98):
Pendant Necklace by The Geeky Cauldron;
Mermaid Washi tape by Simply Gilded;
Notepad Octopus print by Boygirlparty;
Hand printed tea towel from Kitch Studios
The Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller with letter, temp. tattoo and signed bookplate.

Rating for UpperCase March: 5 out of 5
Rating for OwlCrate March: 3.5 out of 5

UpperCase Overview: Uppercase has done it again! Gosh, I am so happy! Specially after last month's box... Remember how I said just a few lines earlier that there has been only one time I was disappointed with UpperCase? That was last month. But let's not talk about that. Every month prior was absolutely amazing and March is no different. 
I was planing on buying the book. What an amazing surprise!!!! I am very much looking forward to it. Oh, and as always with Uppercase, the book is signed. BONUS!!!! The page inside is shinny, and beautiful, and signed ... Did I say beautiful and signed? 
And the little extras did not disappoint! Did you see those cute socks? LOVED it!
The art print is gorgeous. This picture does not give it justice. 
Also love the book hoarder sticker. It is going to sit right next to my book addict sticker- also from UpperCase :) 
Uppercase may not have as many things as OwlCrate, but usually that is not something to be sad about because the few things they send, as you can see, are gorgeous!

OwlCrate Overview: Considering the price difference one would expect OwlCrate to always have the most amazing boxes in comparison to UpperCase. Although they at times have a thing or two that reflects the price (funkos being one of them), that is not always the case. And sadly, definitely not the case this month! Don't get me wrong, it is a good box, but it does not reflect its price tag. I am very good and very careful with my money, so that is a big negative to me and it is rather hard to  get past it whenever it happens. It is also the main reason why I do not subscribe to OwlCrate. If I get their box, it is a one off box here and there. 
I have never heard of the book, but I am looking forward to reading it. It sounds interesting. Rather disappointed that the book is not signed. That is definitely something that UpperCase has going for them. I do not care for a signed little piece of paper (bottom left corner of the picture). Sorry OwlCrate, but signed books are just way better. Every time I move my books either to rearrange shelves or for photo-shoots I will worry I will lose that paper.
The little extras were nice, but not amazing. I loved the necklace, adorable!!! As for everything else... meh... nice, but not fabulous. Would swap all those small things for one nice thing. Or even just for a better quality towel. The towel is pretty, but its cheap. Not cool. 

All in all, both boxes are good. But the fact the book is signed alone makes UpperCase Superior. Even if this OwlCrate box had its usual amazing contents (because lets be honest, OwlCrate is usually epic), I still would prefer UpperCase so I could get the signed book. Sadly that is not the only issue. The box this month does not reflect its price. A little notebook, a washi tape and a cheap towel do not top the cutest socks ever and the beautiful art print! 

I'm an UpperCase girl! All the Way!



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation