Skip to main content

By Your Side by Kasie West- 3 stars

This book came with my February's subscription to UpperCase (the picture above is of all the february's box contents).
I LOVE uppercase, cannot say that enough. But I was a little hesitant when I saw the book. Sounded rather generic and average. I was both proven right and wrong while reading By Your Side.
Right, because yes, it was just another silly underdeveloped romance. But wrong because it was rather sweet and I did very much like the male character.

I don't think the book was so middle of the road as to deserve a 3 star rating. But it wasn't as good as some other books I have given 4 stars. The story was predictable, but at the same time entertaining. Average, but also sweet. Generic with hints of greatness...
The female character was rather boring. I wrote my short review (I always write a very short one for GoodReads) the day after I finished the book, and at that point I had already forgotten the female character's name. So.... that should tell you something.
The main male character however, Dax, and also both 'minor' male characters were very well written and I rather liked them all. He had depth, a background story one could relate and/or feel for. His character together with the other boys saved the book from a low scoring.
Dax was sarcastic, a bit on the tortured side, a little rude at times... I was head over hills reading the first half of the book. Sadly the second half concentrated more on the very so boring female character. The author lost an amazing opportunity there.
The plot is a okay, the love story is sweet enough. But the first half of the book makes little sense at times. For example, how many libraries do you know without emergency exits? I work in a library guys!!! That doesn't exist. Safety and all.... Or without a phone? Its a public building and therefore rare.

But here is the book's biggest problem (for bookworms at least): Don't you book lover love the idea of a book based on two people locked in the library? what if someone granted you that wish and than proceeded to write a book where no one cares about books? grgrgrgr.... it was sad.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.