Skip to main content

Julia Defiant (witch's child #2) by Catherine Egan - 5/5 stars

Julia Defiant is the second book in the Witch’s child series. It was one superb sequel!
It doesn’t happen often that the sequel to a book in a series/trilogy is better than its first instalment. Yet, here we are… Julia Defiant made me want to go back to my review for Julia Vanishes and lower the scoring I gave. Not because Julia Vanishes wasn’t good, but because Julia Defiant was so much better! I managed to finish this beauty in two sittings.
Are you a fan of YA fantasy? Read this series. The first book is ok, the second is phenomenal! I can’t wait for the third book to come out in 2018 (here is hoping it will be as great as the second book!!!!).
So… for the details J
Julia is an awesome main character. It is easy to relate to her. Her emotions and actions feel real. In her shoes, my choices would not be too different. She is smart, loyal, and brave. But she is also angry, afraid and at times too quick to act.
She grew a lot throughout Julia Vanishes and she continues to do so here. By the end of this book she is a much stronger and more determined girl than she was in the beginning.
The Witch’s child is definitely a story about Julia, she takes center stage the whole time. That is not to say the other characters are not interesting though. We are introduced here to some pretty cool new ones and there are a few surprises along the way regarding our already well known characters. At no point however they became the main attraction or more interesting than our protagonist. If you don’t like Julia, well… you won’t like the books!

The plot was epic! So much from the first book was explained and so much is yet to be explained on the next book. It is full of magic, adventure, action, suspense… It will keep you on your toes! I loved the world Catherine Egan created. It is easy to lose track, a LOT is happening, but it is worth every second you spend reading it and making sense of it. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation