Skip to main content

It ends with us by Colleen Hoover- 4.9/5 stars

The reality of this book has left me speechless. I have been staring at this computer screen for a good hour now trying to find the right words. And that is after I spent a good 6 hours in my couch reading it. This is not the kind of book that can easily be put down to be read later, there are no good spots to stop. Once you start it becomes incredibly difficult to take a break. 

The story is complex. It is raw. It is honest. It is sad. It is painful

It shows the reality of human nature. The reality that we are not black and white, simply good or bad. The vast majority of us fall somewhere in the middle- people that make mistakes.
It Ends with Us is told through Lilly's eyes. It is told in the present tense but we also get glimpses into her past as she reads journal entries from when she was a teen.
Lilly is brave and strong. But also as vulnerable as any other woman out there. I was rather impressed with her character, with her sense of self and her ability to prioritize. She had many hard choices to make and she made them well. They were hard, very hard... and there will be a small part of you, as there was a small part of her, who will wish different, but you will know that she did the right thing in the end. 
Riley is amazing! I absolutely loved him. And he is the perfect example of how things are not always as they seem. But most importantly, of how often there is so much more to someone's story than we know. Everyone has a past and everyone is -for better or worse- defined by that past. I believe with all my heart that Colleen Hoover chose the right ending for both Lilly and Riley, but I do not believe someone like Riley should be treated with hatred. I felt his pain, specially in the end.
Atlas was pure perfection. There are so many kids out there in the world like him. How wonderful would it be if there were more Lillys?!

All in all this was a fantastic read. Super emotional. Heart wrenching.

When the book was over though something did not feel right. The last 3-4 pages felt rushed. Lilly 'jumped ship' too fast. 

And all that being said, I feel I should mention something I did not see mentioned anywhere and I was certainly not told myself: if you have been in a abusive situation (parents/partners/other) and still have hard days, don't read unless you are having a good day. I will be honest and say that had I know what the book was about before reading it I would not have read it. I felt in the end of this book similarly to how I felt when I finished reading The Problem with Forever two months ago (another book I started without knowing what it was going to be about)- reliving memories better forgotten. It was far to real, and if you, like me, can relate to the main female character in either of those books, you also know you need to be in the right frame of mind while reading it... 

Comments

  1. I love your review ❤
    And you're absolutely right, this book should come with a warning. But reading a Colleen Hoover book is never an easy read, she mostly writes about those kind of topics. I was going into that book without knowing what it was about and I cried my eyes out.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.