Skip to main content

From Alaska With Love by Ally James [arc review]

From Alaska with Love, Ally James
Sometimes it is good to go blind into a book. From Alaska with Love was that for me. I knew it was a romance but I could not remember the blurb and didn't re-read it. It was SO GOOD! One of those easy to read, feel good romances that leaves you with a smile on your face and feeling better about the world!


The Blurb:

Sara's letters were the only bright spot during Gabe's devastating tour in Iraq. With each new correspondence he fell harder, needed her more, wanted to be with her. Now, after initially rejecting his offer to meet, she's shown up at the door of his isolated cabin in Alaska looking for...what? Gabe's not sure what made Sara change her mind, but he knows he never wants to let her go.


Major Gabe Randall is everything Sara Ryan wants but nothing she feels she deserves. A modern-day spinster, Sara hides behind family obligations and the safe, quiet life she's resigned herself to living. But secretly, even though she may have stretched the truth about who she is in her letters to him, she wants Gabe. Will he still want her when he discovers the real woman behind the pen?

Once they meet, Gabe asks her for six weeks in Alaska. Six weeks to spend getting to know each other, and then she'll have to decide whether they are better together or apart. 


The Review: 4 Stars

My favorite part was no shadow of doubt the emails they wrote to each other. Her awkwardness and his stiffness had me giggling.
I also thought the author did a great job bringing to light some of the struggles our soldiers have while serving. She didn't make it heavy and go into tons of details, but gave us enough to sympathize with the characters and enjoy their journeys.
With that in mind, Major Gabe Randall was everything you would hope from a man of honor. He acted as you would hope a man would. No d**k pics were send, no trashy talk. He was kind and honest. Perhaps a little dry at times, but that was how his personality was meant to be portrayed and it worked well.
Sara took a while to come into her own. She is a little childish considering how old she is and I can't say I loved that about her. Her family treated her the way they did because she let them. That aside, she was quirky, funny, and loyal. A perfect match for Gabe, who needed a little lightening up in his life.

From Alaska with Love was the perfect read to start my quarantine. I was smiling when I put down the book and ready for the next!

Find the book at: Inklings Bookshop

In support to indie stores who are struggling right now no Amazon link will be added. The indie store above IS offering free shipping at this time! Give them a helping hand! Thanks :)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation