Skip to main content

My Kind of Cowboy (Wranglers of Wyoming #1) by R.C. Ryan [arc review]

51315998. sx318 sy475 Hello Hello Sunnies! I hope you are all staying safe during these crazy times. My Kind of Cowboy was my first read for May and I thoroughly enjoyed it, RC Ryan writes easy to read stories and easy to love characters.


Blurb:
Brand Merrick is a take-charge cowboy who loves a challenge and being in the thick of the action on his family ranch. When Brand takes a fall from his horse and the town doctor orders physical therapy, he doesn't intend to rest for long. They make a compromise that the physical therapist will come stay on the ranch for six weeks so Brand can do his exercises between his duties running the ranch. But Brand wasn't expecting to be working with beautiful, tough city-girl Avery.


Avery Grant has no patience for the sexy cowboy who makes it clear therapy is a waste of his time. She won't back down, especially since she came to Wyoming for another reason... to get away from the mysterious threats she keeps receiving. But the threats have followed her to the Merrick ranch. And soon, Brand isn't feeling quite so hostile toward his new therapist... in fact, keeping her safe becomes his only priority.

The Review: 3.5/5 Stars

The book starts with a bang.  It opens with an introduction to a tragic accident many years ago that forever changed the Merrick's family life.
That being said, as with every RC Ryan book I have read to date, it had that 'feel good' feeling in the end. The story was sweet, funny, and charming.
The whole family dynamics added to the 'feel good' vibe of the book. Every single secondary character was well put together and could easily have his/her own book at some point.
Brand is a cowboy through and through and would rather deal with pain than to stop working to do some therapy. Avery is used to strong minded patients and knows how to get her way. 
Their personalities and view points didn't really crash for long. Brand was willing to give it a try very early on and their friendship/relationship developed from there. 
They had chemistry and worked well together. His protective and careful nature and her kind and watchful one matched. 
Although I really enjoyed the book I think overall it sounded a little too similar to other books, books by RC Ryan herself and other cowboy romances. I even went back to read another review I wrote for one of her books and found I used the exact same words to describe certain aspects of it. 
So do I recommend it? most definitely!!! I read the book in two sittings. Just don't go in expecting anything new and refreshing. If you usually love cowboy romances you will love this one too. 

Find the book at: Inklings Bookshop

In support to indie stores who are struggling right now no Amazon link will be added. The indie store above IS offering free shipping at this time! Give them a helping hand! Thanks :)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation