Skip to main content

"Quickies" part 2


Another week, another "quickies" post. Once more I read some of the books on my tbr that are a little older. It is being nice getting to some of them :)



33276146. sy475
Delivery Girl by Lily Kate - 4 Stars 

This one I read for my zoom book club. I knew absolutely nothing about it going into it and I am glad to report it was a cute and fun read. 
Andi is working at her dads pizza shop while finishing uni and pursuing a career in stand up comedy. She is funny, sweet and genuine. Easy to like and easy to love. 
Rian is a hockey player on the verge of stardom. Get signed by the right person at the right time and his career is made.
They meet when he orders pizza at his brothers house. It is hilarious from the first moment to the last.

Inklings Bookshop - Goodreads
38568

A Quick Bite 

I have never read a paranormal romance book quite like it. It has been a few days since I finished it and I still don't know exactly how to feel about it. As with every first book in a new series it had a lot going on, and I am usually ok with that. But here we had an absolutely crazy amount of characters being introduced to us in the most weird ways and times. I guess the author was trying to make it sound funny...Anyway, overall I liked the book, I just wish the characters were a little less juvenile (specially since they are meant to be over 200 years old), and that the most interesting idea in the book: a vampire that suffers from hemophilia, was explored a tad more.

Goodreads - Inklings Bookshop


Scoring off the Field (WAGS, #2)Scoring off the Field by Naima Simone - 4 Stars

Naima Simone never ceases to amaze me. She writes amazing romance, always gets me teary, and they are always hot.
Tenny has decided to move on. Having unrequited feelings for her best friend for as long as she can remember and working for him every day is just not working out. Dom is oblivious to what is right in front of him. Sometimes it takes losing something for someone to realize how important that something or someone is. This was a nice easy read with plenty of heartfelt moments to pull at your heartstrings.

Goodreads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.