Skip to main content

Beach Read by Emily Henry

A romance writer who no longer believes in love and a literary writer stuck in a rut engage in a summer-long challenge that may just upend everything they believe about happily ever afters.
Beach Read
It was easy to see why Beach Read was a bestseller everywhere, it was an outstanding book from beginning to end. 
This is the story of two writers that by chance change each other lives. The heartache both are going through will resonate with many readers. The struggles, fears, and disappointments in their lives have been many and they are both trying to cope with it the best way they can. 
Apart from all the personal problems they have going on both of them need to finish their books. Or in January's case, even start it. 
Gus always takes a long time to finish his books and he can't take any more advances. January is soon reaching her deadline and she desperately needs the money. 
He writes dark and twisted books that show the worse in humanity. She writes happily ever afters. They can't be more different... until now. After all that has recently happened January is struggling to believe in love, much less happily ever afters. Having to move into the beach house her dad use to live with his 'other' woman, one she didn't know existed until his funeral, is not helping things. But she has a deadline, so what to do?
Gus proposes a trade. He will attempt to write a romantic comedy if she will attempt to write his next fiction book. During the week they write, during the weekend they go researching for their books together. He takes her to interview and see all the dark places and morbid stories he was going to use for his books and she will take him on all the things that used to make her happy and inspired her to write her romance novels.

In spending so much time together they get to know each other better and discover that there was a lot more to life and to the way they see life. From the outside, they are polar opposites, have not a single thing in common besides being a writer. But as weeks come to pass they find that what separates them, is also what makes them so alike. 

I expected (probably because of the title) for this to be an easy read. A nice, sweet and light beach/summer novel with some romance. It is not that. Instead it is a story of loss, of learning to cope, of friendships, regrets, dysfunctional families... It is smart, funny and at times heart shattering. And of-course, it is also a romance novel.

Find the Book at: Inklings Bookshop - GoodReads

In support to indie stores who are struggling right now no Amazon link will be added. The indie store above IS offering free shipping at this time! Give them a helping hand! Thanks :)






Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation