Skip to main content

Q&A with Marie Harte, author of The Kissing Game

The Kissing Game

The favorite part of my job? There are many. That being said, doing Q&A's with authors and hosting authors events are big perks. This past month my Romance Book Club read The Kissing Game by Marie Harte and I loved the book. Even more, loved the opportunity to get to know the author a little more. Here is our Q&A with the fabulous Marie Harte! 

-  When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer?  I used to write on 3x5 index cards and create stories when I was a kid. I’ve always loved stories and storytelling and dreamed of being a full-fledged novelist. I majored in English in college and started writing while in my early twenties, but on the side. (I was in the Marine Corps at the time.) It wasn’t until 2002 when I quit my job to write full-time. Then I became pregnant and continued to write, publishing in late 2004 with a small press publisher.

- When you are not writing what genre do you enjoy reading? And do you have a ’go-to’ author? I am very into urban fantasy right now. I also like paranormal romance. My go-to authors are Ilona Andrews and Patricia Briggs. I have reread the Kate Daniels and Mercy Thompson series (written respectively) so many times!

- What was the inspiration behind The Kissing Game? In 2014, I introduced Rena Jackson in What to Do with a Bad Boy. I have been DYING to write her story for years! When the opportunity for a Valentine’s Day romance came along, I knew it would be perfect for Rena, a character in love with love. She’s the ultimate romantic, and I couldn’t wait to give her a happily ever after with tough guy, Axel Heller.

- Were any of the characters inspired by someone in real life? I wish. The Body Shop Bad Boys crew brought Axel Heller into being. Sadly, they are fictional.

- What was your favorite scene to write? When Heller goes to see Rena after she’s canceled their first date. He arrives at her home and sees her without her makeup/glam that she wears at her salon, and he finds her more beautiful than ever. Rena has a mini breakdown, in that moment so many of us have had, wondering if she’ll ever find Mr. Right. Yet Mr. Right is right there, holding her, and I just love that scene of connection that’s so close but not yet apparent.

- Do you have any more books coming out this year? I am currently working on a new series for Sourcebooks about firefighters who fall in love, but they don’t release until 2021. This year, I plan on a holiday romance in November/December. At present, I’m focused on marketing and re-releasing older titles that have been sitting in my queue and need to be released.

 

Thank you so much for joining our Q&A

 

Thank you for having me!


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation