Skip to main content

Q&A with Marie Harte, author of The Kissing Game

The Kissing Game

The favorite part of my job? There are many. That being said, doing Q&A's with authors and hosting authors events are big perks. This past month my Romance Book Club read The Kissing Game by Marie Harte and I loved the book. Even more, loved the opportunity to get to know the author a little more. Here is our Q&A with the fabulous Marie Harte! 

-  When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer?  I used to write on 3x5 index cards and create stories when I was a kid. I’ve always loved stories and storytelling and dreamed of being a full-fledged novelist. I majored in English in college and started writing while in my early twenties, but on the side. (I was in the Marine Corps at the time.) It wasn’t until 2002 when I quit my job to write full-time. Then I became pregnant and continued to write, publishing in late 2004 with a small press publisher.

- When you are not writing what genre do you enjoy reading? And do you have a ’go-to’ author? I am very into urban fantasy right now. I also like paranormal romance. My go-to authors are Ilona Andrews and Patricia Briggs. I have reread the Kate Daniels and Mercy Thompson series (written respectively) so many times!

- What was the inspiration behind The Kissing Game? In 2014, I introduced Rena Jackson in What to Do with a Bad Boy. I have been DYING to write her story for years! When the opportunity for a Valentine’s Day romance came along, I knew it would be perfect for Rena, a character in love with love. She’s the ultimate romantic, and I couldn’t wait to give her a happily ever after with tough guy, Axel Heller.

- Were any of the characters inspired by someone in real life? I wish. The Body Shop Bad Boys crew brought Axel Heller into being. Sadly, they are fictional.

- What was your favorite scene to write? When Heller goes to see Rena after she’s canceled their first date. He arrives at her home and sees her without her makeup/glam that she wears at her salon, and he finds her more beautiful than ever. Rena has a mini breakdown, in that moment so many of us have had, wondering if she’ll ever find Mr. Right. Yet Mr. Right is right there, holding her, and I just love that scene of connection that’s so close but not yet apparent.

- Do you have any more books coming out this year? I am currently working on a new series for Sourcebooks about firefighters who fall in love, but they don’t release until 2021. This year, I plan on a holiday romance in November/December. At present, I’m focused on marketing and re-releasing older titles that have been sitting in my queue and need to be released.

 

Thank you so much for joining our Q&A

 

Thank you for having me!


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.