Skip to main content

The Subway Girl by Lisa Becker [arc review]

June has been a good reading month, although not all books have been 5 star reads they have all been great reads. And on that note, thank you kindly to author Lisa Becker for sending me a copy of her book to read and review. This beauty comes out July 14th, 2020!




Blurb:
"You don't find love, it finds you. It's got a little bit to do with destiny, fate and what's written in the stars." Anais Nin

A hopeless romantic.
A cynical web show producer.
An unscrupulous cameraman.
A sleazy businessman.
An aspiring actress.
A womanizing best friend.
A scheming ex-girlfriend.
A commitment-phobic roommate.
An unlucky-in-love buddy.

These lives intersect when an average guy is awed by a gorgeous mystery woman on a New York subway and vows to meet her.

The Review: 3.5 Stars

I gotta say that the blurb through me off. To me it sounds like the book will be about a lot of different people and no one (to my knowledge) wants that in their romance book. Fret not though, this is definitely a romance book and it focuses mostly on the hopeless romantic and the cynical web show producer :)
-and please note this is an arc. Who knows, the blurb might change still...-

This is my second read by Lisa Becker and it did not disappoint. 
Do you believe in love at first sight? How far would you go to find that someone?  The Subway Girl is the story of how far one guy will go to find that someone and how far a show producer will go to make that happen. 
The hopeless romantic is Ryan. He sees a girl in the subway and convinces himself she is the one. Here enters our cynical web show producer with a show dedicated to finding Ryan's Subway Girl. 
While they search they get to know each other better and slowly but surely fall in love. When reading a contemporary romance it is nice to see the main couple fall in friendship and lust before love, it is nice to see their feelings develop and grow, and that certainly happened here. Lisa did a great job getting us to know them and sympathize with them. 

Why not 5 stars? well, although I loved the book and would highly recommend you read it I struggled with Ryan's passive nature.  I get that he is meant to be this hopeless romantic guy, but one meeting with the Subway Girl was all he needed to know she was not actually the one, so carrying on with that was annoying me a little. It was also a little slow to start and grab my attention. 

I genuinely loved the idea behind the book and all side characters. Lisa Becker could easily make this into a series and I would read every single one of the books! 
Go Read!

Find the books at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation