Skip to main content

Everything Everything: 5 out of 5

Can a book be described as utterly cute? I am going to say yes, because, well... this was utterly cute! I can't get over it.
The beauty of it is unexplainable.

The Plot (GoodReads): "My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I'm allergic to the world. I don't leave my house, have not let my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He's tall, lean and wearing all black- black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.
Maybe we can't predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It's almost certainly going to be a disaster."

This book was so beautifully written. I would say it follows on the footsteps of The Fault in Our Stars without being quite as tragic. You will likely laugh and cry through the book, but you wont feel heartbroken in the end like you did (or will) when reading The Fault in Our Stars.

Madeline's relationship with Olly is built differently than any other. They can't see each other face to face, touch, talk, do any things other normal teens can. And for a long time, he doesn't know why. They communicate miming at the window and via email. Their chats are amusing and fun to read. Madeline's whole concept on life changes because of this one boy. And the way her mind works is priceless! I mean... look at the picture I'm sharing with you guys... :)
There is a great emphasis on the book on human nature too. Our need and desire for more than what we have. But it is done in a kind and sweet way. Madeline comes across a tad selfish because of it, but that makes her more human and much more relatable.

"Wanting just leads to more wanting. There's no end to desire"

Overall,  there was great balance through out the book between lighthearted stuff and the more serious stuff, and I doubt you won't like the book!!!


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.