Skip to main content

The Raven Cycle (emphasis on the last two books): 4 out of 5

Oh boy... I wanted to give this series a 5 so bad. But I just can't. I actually keep fluctuating between 3.75 and 4.
I read a review on GoodReads that said something along the lines of plot being forgotten for the sake of character building. I agree with that 100%. The characters are amazingly well written. I challenge you to not love them. But the plot... lacking.
This would have been better as a trilogy. So much of it was unnecessary and only made the story slow and frustrating. Every time I read Greenmantle I wanted to shut the book. Such a pointless spineless character. Henry's mom, whatever her name was....what was the point of her existence? Even Henry for that matter. He wasn't bad, but he wasn't need either. Why bring back Neeve? etc.
If this had been a trilogy, it probably would have been a 5 for me. Because I do love the main characters. Ronan, Adam, Noah (specially Noah, he is so adorable), all the woman ad 300 Fox Way, Gansey, The Grey Man (Love him!)... all the main characters are great and diverse and have been very well written. I like the special care Maggie Stiefvater gives to each one of them.

The boys are wonderful!
Adam, the trustworthy, honorable honest character that you cant help but both get annoyed at and love. My favorite part on the whole series is on Blue Lily, Lily Blue when Adam FINALLY accepts that Gansey and Ronan are not, and have not been pitying him, but rather being (or trying to be) his true friends. 
"Now he could see that it wasn't charity Gansey was offering. It was just the truth. 
And something else: friendship of the unshakable kind. Friendship you could swear on. That could be busted nearly to breaking point and come back stronger than before"
Seriously Adam? They have been offering you that from book 1! :)
Next we have Ronan. I think he is my favorite over hall. He is like a wild animal that cannot be contained. And yet, this feral animal is the most loving and caring there is if you just understand his language. 
Noah... oh sweet Noah... The scene when he shows Blue exactly how little of him is left is heartbreaking and heartwarming at the same time. He is that background character that you want never to let go.
Gansey... does he has personality? or does he has too much of it? I don't know. Sometimes I like Gansey's character. Other times I feel indifferent towards him.

Would I read it again? Yes. 
Would I skip certain sections? Yes. And it breaks my heart saying that about any book! 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.