Skip to main content

The Raven Cycle (emphasis on the last two books): 4 out of 5

Oh boy... I wanted to give this series a 5 so bad. But I just can't. I actually keep fluctuating between 3.75 and 4.
I read a review on GoodReads that said something along the lines of plot being forgotten for the sake of character building. I agree with that 100%. The characters are amazingly well written. I challenge you to not love them. But the plot... lacking.
This would have been better as a trilogy. So much of it was unnecessary and only made the story slow and frustrating. Every time I read Greenmantle I wanted to shut the book. Such a pointless spineless character. Henry's mom, whatever her name was....what was the point of her existence? Even Henry for that matter. He wasn't bad, but he wasn't need either. Why bring back Neeve? etc.
If this had been a trilogy, it probably would have been a 5 for me. Because I do love the main characters. Ronan, Adam, Noah (specially Noah, he is so adorable), all the woman ad 300 Fox Way, Gansey, The Grey Man (Love him!)... all the main characters are great and diverse and have been very well written. I like the special care Maggie Stiefvater gives to each one of them.

The boys are wonderful!
Adam, the trustworthy, honorable honest character that you cant help but both get annoyed at and love. My favorite part on the whole series is on Blue Lily, Lily Blue when Adam FINALLY accepts that Gansey and Ronan are not, and have not been pitying him, but rather being (or trying to be) his true friends. 
"Now he could see that it wasn't charity Gansey was offering. It was just the truth. 
And something else: friendship of the unshakable kind. Friendship you could swear on. That could be busted nearly to breaking point and come back stronger than before"
Seriously Adam? They have been offering you that from book 1! :)
Next we have Ronan. I think he is my favorite over hall. He is like a wild animal that cannot be contained. And yet, this feral animal is the most loving and caring there is if you just understand his language. 
Noah... oh sweet Noah... The scene when he shows Blue exactly how little of him is left is heartbreaking and heartwarming at the same time. He is that background character that you want never to let go.
Gansey... does he has personality? or does he has too much of it? I don't know. Sometimes I like Gansey's character. Other times I feel indifferent towards him.

Would I read it again? Yes. 
Would I skip certain sections? Yes. And it breaks my heart saying that about any book! 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b