Skip to main content

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff- 5/5 stars (4.9 if I'm being really picky)


I finished reading this less than 30 minutes ago, and since I will be going on holidays tomorrow I thought it would be best to share my thoughts with all of you tonight while it still fresh. 
I am speechless. If you force me to choose between Illuminae and Gemina I will still choose Illuminae, but this was good. Very very good. Minor things here and there (which is why I said "4.9 if I'm being picky") but nothing that detracts from its brilliance. 
--This review will likely only make sense if you've read the first book as I am not going through plot details. You might want to read the blurb first if you haven't read Illuminae--

Book blurb Here (GoodReads) 

Things I liked:
- Once again we have a fabulous action packed sci-fi book with an epic romance story. I loved Nik and Hannah's story. This is actually the one part of the book that I enjoyed more than Illuminae. Both characters were well developed and so was their love story. In Illuminae I felt like only Kady's character was well developed. I don't think Kady would have been a very relatable character without Ezra, he was necessary, but he was also forgettable in some parts. More attention was given to Aidan. The same does not happen here, both Hannah and Nik (and even Ella) are essential and can hold much of the story on their own.
- The plot, once it got going, was fast paced, action packed, and very entertaining. I love the comical elements to it. The lollipop song/virus is just unforgettable! 😁
- NIK! I am in love with that boy. Another book boyfriend to the ever growing list! I have a thing for bad boys in books (as most of you know), So it is no surprise I think his character was epic. He is a convicted criminal, a drug 'lord', sassy as they come... And yet, he somehow manages to be a softie without loosing his 'bad boy' vibe. PERFECTION. 
- The format in which the book is written is as cleverly done and put together as Illuminae was. I never thought reading a book through hacked documents, emails, IM's, etc would be something enjoyable. I could not have been more wrong.
- Old characters give an appearance towards the end bringing both books together without taking away the limelight from the new couple. I am still annoyed at Aidan, but at the same time I was pleased to see him again... conflicted feelings! hehe
- Aesthetically it is perfection. Even better (not that I thought possible) than Illuminae.
- Best scene in the whole book?! The conversation between Hannah's and Kady's fathers about the lollypop song. Priceless! ::::

Donnelly, C: Yes. I couldn't help but notice a rather obnoxious pop song playing through the elevator PA on the way to meet with strategy this morning. Now, my daughter insists on informing me daily that my taste in music is not exactly "chill."

Grant, I: Ha! My daughter says the same to me.

Donnelly, C: But then I noticed the same song playing when I got on the elevators to Reactor Control twenty minutes ago.

Grant, I: Yeah, it's playing on all the elevators.

Donnelly, C: It's playing on all the elevators, Isaac. Constantly

Grant, I: Yeah, I know. It's the new Lexi Blue single, Kady loves her.

Donnelly, C: What the devil is it doing playing on my elevators?

Grant, I: One of the maintenance guys got sent some malware. It's a marketing ploy from Blue's recording company. Erases any audio file data it can find and implants the new single instead.

Donnelly, C: Don't we have defenses against that kind of thing?

Grant, I: Yeah. It's one of these new-wave Trojans. Mutating virus. Kind of clever, actually.

Donnelly, C: Have you listened to the lyrics? I couldn't understand half of them, but the bits I caught sounded a little. . . risque.

Grant, I: Um. Yeah. The title kinda gives it away.

Donnelly, C: Dare I ask?

Grant, I: Let's just say it has to do with lollipops. And the licking thereof.

Donnelly, C: Jesus Christ, Isaac. I know you're under pressure, but-

Grant, I: I know, I know. 

Things I wasn't sure about:
- The Gemina theory... it felt rather unrealistic. Yah, I know, it is a sci-fi book... but still... It felt "forced" for the first few pages. Eventually it got a little more interesting, but not without being predictable. There was no 'WOW' moment. No shocking plot twist.
- Because it got predictable it did not feel as intense as Illuminae. I was invested in the story but wasn't emotionally affected by it when things meant to be upsetting happened (it is so hard writing reviews without spoilers, I hope you all appreciate the effort! hehe)
- The slang talk whenever Ella was involved gave me a headache. Waaaaay too much. 
- Hannah and Kady are very similar characters. So much so that through the first third of the book I was getting a little bored. I prefer Kady to Hannah, not because Hannah wasn't great, but because she felt like a copy of Kady. As a POV, I prefer Hannah and Nik, their characters together are better written. But apart, Hannah is the weakest of the four main characters...

Go ReAd!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation