Skip to main content

The Midnight Star by Marie Lu- 5 Stars

NO author can write book endings as well as Marie Lu. She may not be my all time favorite author, but her trilogy endings most certainly are! I am obsessed with the ending for Champion (Legend trilogy) and now with The Midnight Star too. PURE PERFECTION ! 💖
I cried happy tears. I knew not all would survive, I knew the one who had to die... but it was not predictable at all. I was so so so happy with how all the deaths and near deaths happened. The ending is magical, something out of an old tale. I will not be forgetting this any time soon.

So... now that you know how much I loved the ending, let's chat about the rest of the book!
It was by far the best in the trilogy. The story evolved at a good pace. There was plenty of action, plenty of great moments and twists and turns.

Adelina is a beautiful written character. Her life has not been easy and the darkness in her after so much hurt, abuse and betrayal has grown beyond limits. The books starts off with the Adelina I wanted to see more off in The Rose society. A perfect villain. Because to most, that what she is, a villain. We, the reader, know that a better description for her would be that of an anti-hero, but I genuinely enjoy seeing Adelina more accepting of her darkness, of her imperfections. 
She is despicable, yet, she is also so easy to sympathize with. 
Magiano helps make Adelina the relatable character she is. His joy penetrates her darkness as well as give the story a somewhat light hearted feel after so much death and despair. 

It is though the dark characters that fascinate me the most. 
The other character whom I love is Teren. I believe I said this in my review on The Young Elites earlier this week... when tragedy happened, those who got out of it alive dealt with it differently. Enzo grew in power and sought to take the throne; Magiano became a wonderer, a thief, a loner; Adelina let her suffering turn into darkness and a desire for revenge; Teren? well, Teren let himself believe he was cursed. He did what he did out of his strong believe that he was wrong to exist. I don't think the things he did were right, but I understand him. And I LOVED his ending. Adelina was sad, and so was I...

Violetta may not be my favorite character, but without her the ending would not be as amazing as it was. So I guess I have to like her for that!

The other characters could have been decoration for all I care. Necessary, but none that will miss. It is Adelina, Violetta, Magiano and Teren who make the story great. 

The other thing I loved about The Midnight Star were the little stories at the opening and at the ending.
I thought that 'The Witness account of Queen Adelina's siege on the nation of Dumor' at the beginning gave the story a perfect entry point. This is who Adelina is, this is who she has become.
And the ending, 'The Midnight Star' folktale brought me to tears. The ending was already perfect. That little magical tale just added an extra sweet touch to it all. 

And let's not forget the beautiful quotes/moments in the book!
You cannot harden your heart to the future just because of your past. You cannot use cruelty against yourself to justify cruelty to others.

After a lifetime of darkness, I want to leave something behind that is made of light.

You are a thousand things, mi Adelinetta, not just one. Do not reduce yourself to that.

Go Read guys! I might have to go and reread that ending before I can move on to the next book in my tbr! 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.