Skip to main content

The Midnight Star by Marie Lu- 5 Stars

NO author can write book endings as well as Marie Lu. She may not be my all time favorite author, but her trilogy endings most certainly are! I am obsessed with the ending for Champion (Legend trilogy) and now with The Midnight Star too. PURE PERFECTION ! 💖
I cried happy tears. I knew not all would survive, I knew the one who had to die... but it was not predictable at all. I was so so so happy with how all the deaths and near deaths happened. The ending is magical, something out of an old tale. I will not be forgetting this any time soon.

So... now that you know how much I loved the ending, let's chat about the rest of the book!
It was by far the best in the trilogy. The story evolved at a good pace. There was plenty of action, plenty of great moments and twists and turns.

Adelina is a beautiful written character. Her life has not been easy and the darkness in her after so much hurt, abuse and betrayal has grown beyond limits. The books starts off with the Adelina I wanted to see more off in The Rose society. A perfect villain. Because to most, that what she is, a villain. We, the reader, know that a better description for her would be that of an anti-hero, but I genuinely enjoy seeing Adelina more accepting of her darkness, of her imperfections. 
She is despicable, yet, she is also so easy to sympathize with. 
Magiano helps make Adelina the relatable character she is. His joy penetrates her darkness as well as give the story a somewhat light hearted feel after so much death and despair. 

It is though the dark characters that fascinate me the most. 
The other character whom I love is Teren. I believe I said this in my review on The Young Elites earlier this week... when tragedy happened, those who got out of it alive dealt with it differently. Enzo grew in power and sought to take the throne; Magiano became a wonderer, a thief, a loner; Adelina let her suffering turn into darkness and a desire for revenge; Teren? well, Teren let himself believe he was cursed. He did what he did out of his strong believe that he was wrong to exist. I don't think the things he did were right, but I understand him. And I LOVED his ending. Adelina was sad, and so was I...

Violetta may not be my favorite character, but without her the ending would not be as amazing as it was. So I guess I have to like her for that!

The other characters could have been decoration for all I care. Necessary, but none that will miss. It is Adelina, Violetta, Magiano and Teren who make the story great. 

The other thing I loved about The Midnight Star were the little stories at the opening and at the ending.
I thought that 'The Witness account of Queen Adelina's siege on the nation of Dumor' at the beginning gave the story a perfect entry point. This is who Adelina is, this is who she has become.
And the ending, 'The Midnight Star' folktale brought me to tears. The ending was already perfect. That little magical tale just added an extra sweet touch to it all. 

And let's not forget the beautiful quotes/moments in the book!
You cannot harden your heart to the future just because of your past. You cannot use cruelty against yourself to justify cruelty to others.

After a lifetime of darkness, I want to leave something behind that is made of light.

You are a thousand things, mi Adelinetta, not just one. Do not reduce yourself to that.

Go Read guys! I might have to go and reread that ending before I can move on to the next book in my tbr! 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation